Posted by: metinahurricane | November 29, 2008

The King’s Conclusions — Cortex & Tiny

CORTEX AND TINY

By MasterWarlord

~~~

 Tiny… is that name supposed to be a joke? Wait… yes it is. It’s supposed to be an ironic name, because Tiny’s so huge. And so it goes with this moveset. I’ve perused it in the past, but it’s SO BIG that I need a reminder.

*reads*

So… well, again, I’ll go with what I like first. And this is obvious, but… almost every attack is infused with such creativity that it’s hard not to marvel at it. Things like the Up Air and the Dashing Attack – and pretty much anything involving throwing Cortex – are unlike quite anything I’ve ever seen before.

Now, my biggest problem with Cortex & Tiny is that they’re so ridiculously complicated and hard to use. A plethora of attacks will result in a self KO if you use them without the utmost care, making them the ultimate pro character. There are just so many levels and tricks and synergies that to master – or even remember – them all would take a feat that would stagger even the most seasoned Smash player. With all the attacks that separate the two, all the bizarro laggy attacks, Tiny Titan form, Cortex alone form, and then even the little sub-mechanic with Tiny’s trident – not to mention all the strange and varied ways between the two of them that they can recover – and you have a character that would scare off everyone who isn’t inflicting deliberate harm on themselves.

As insane as this would be in gameplay, it does look great on paper. Again, the interactions are redonkulous. It all comes together with Cortex’s Specials, doesn’t it? And, of course, the subtleties are limitless. Tiny Titan is SO good… but you had better make sure you’re looking after Cortex, limiting his potential. But wait! He can use his trident to hit foes from afar! If they react, get Cortex back with you and follow up with a Dash Attack! Seriously… the more you read, the more interactions you find, and that’s just great.

However, my other big problem with the duo is the moveset’s length. Yeah, yeah, it’s all very funny until it actually comes to reading it. Many of his attacks are a bit… overly wordy. Excess words should be pruned! This is one aspect in which Dimentio trumps these guys. And then, since it’s actually three characters in one, it becomes almost dumb. And then the extras. I can only excuse them because of all the effort you put into them, and because it’s clear that you like making them. As for me, I read the stage way back when, and that’s pretty much all I plan to do. Still, this isn’t a complaint per se, as extras are… just an extra bonus feature.

Organization… needs moar headers, definitely. Instead of just basic attacks, put in Tilts, Standards, etc. Makes it so much more easy to skim through the orange-and-yellow wall of text. Another thing; I really have to suggest making the attack names larger. Size 3, to be precise. This is especially important here, where each attack also has a Tiny Titan form. Bolden (already done) and enlarge the primary attack names, while leaving Tiny Titan as is, and it’ll be waaaay easier to figure out where what ends and begins. I really insist on this; it’ll make a HUGE difference.

And another thing. I’ve said that Cortex & Tiny are almost impossible to pick up, yes? Well, that may be, but once they’re mastered, all the myriad interactions between the forms and styles seem to make them on the overpowered side of the scale. The number of tricks and combos and mindgames that a skilled player could pull is actually terrifying. Especially on a smaller stage. Just by using Cortex, hopping around and wielding his specials to set Tiny where you want him to be, you could totally devastate your opponent. This isn’t really a fixable problem, but it IS something I’ve observed.

The individual attacks, now… for the most part, I couldn’t suggest anything without seeing the character in action. However, I do think you should tone down the attacks where Tiny tosses Cortex. He’s not THAT weak without him, it being pretty easy to get back, or even defend yourself, and meanwhile, the attack is speedy AND a great KO move.

So, on the whole, I’ve pretty much nitpicked a lot, and done a lot of theoretical thinking. On paper, this moveset is fantastic, aside from the nasty fact of how hard it is to pick through. Headers and changing the size of attack names would go a LONG way towards making that department perfect. However, I have to say I don’t expect this to be among the Top 5. Top 10, maybe, but… you’re going to scare a lot of people away with its length. And, to be honest, I still prefer Dimentio, for having tons of originality without going quite as insanely layered as this.

But never let this suggest that Cortex & Tiny isn’t jaw-dropping. Detail Nazi, I salute you.

Responses

  1. Blasphemey! This moveset is the next Dracula!

    Anyway. . .I’m getting very mixed opinions on Cortex and Tiny, as according to Hyper Ridley this thing’s apparently UNDER powered. These bad boys have the potential to make their way to high tier I suppose, but only in the hands of the best of the best. Basically, as far as the tourney scene is concerned, there’d just be a couple of really really good Cortex and Tiny players, and that’d be it. Only the best of the best would use them for the most part.

    But due to their varied attacks, they’d be fun with casuals, and the people who played them in tourneries would be highly respected and popular for playing a high tier yet under-used character. All works, aye?

    I’ll see about perhaps making it easier to read. . .And the extras are extras. They’re not required reading, but quality reading at that. I’m very proud of the stage, almost as much as I am of the actual moveset.

    And yes, I’d like you to PM me the ratings you told me about for Dimentio and possibly Cortex and Tiny as well.

  2. 😛

    Well, the way I figure it, you’ve hit it. The guys have a LOT of potential, but it really takes perfect memory to be able to use them. Not to mention all the potential mindgames and strategies that would emerge on a player-to-player basis. Nobody would play them quite the same way. The metagame would constantly evolve. And, yeah, very fun with casuals. None of this is really negative; it’s all positive, in fact.

    Yes, make it a bit easier on the eyes, please. And I’m not complaining about the extras. The stage is very impressive, once you actually read the dang thing.

    I’ll PM you Dimentio’s ratings, but I didn’t rate Cortex and Tiny as I went along. I’ve stopped doing that. I think this kind of review is more to your satisfaction, yes? Sufficient detail?

  3. This review was indeed a lot better quality then the last, and it actually pointed out problems. . .But quite frankly, this moveset generally has much more visible faults than Dimentio.

    I like making my characters have high learning curves. . .But making it too steep can be a bad thing. Gotta learn when enough’s enough. If you yourself, the moveset maker, barely can pin down the play style yourself, it’s getting a bit too crazy.


What do you think?

Categories

