Posted by: The Stadium | December 1, 2008

The Chief Concern — Sly Cooper

Sly Cooper

by XACE-K

– – –

Sly, behind you!

One of my favorite things about this ‘set is how Sly has a painfully-slow walk speed and an amazingly-fast dash speed. The reasoning behind that is just so awesomely referential. But really the best thing is that you managed quite nicely to (with one or two exceptions) make Sly an awesome showing of the character–primarily through numerous attacks taken almost directly from the actual Sly Cooper games.

I do have some nits to pick though.

That purple color on the grab/throws section needs to be tossed in favor of some lighter color, because I can hardly read it. It’d also be nice to see some increased font sizes, or even just some bolding and whatnot to segregate the sections more effectively.

You should’ve seen this coming, but there are quite a few places that could use more detail. I know what the Finishing Slam is, but not everyone else does, so explaining that move in full would be better. I’m not asking for more details on the knockback/hitstun/lag or any other technical category like that–I just want to know what Sly’s doing. Along the same lines, giving any character any attack that’s basically “just like other character’s” (in this case Sly’s Up Air backflip) is just asking for trouble.

So yeah. That’s basically it. Essentially, if you tidy up ythe visuals and explain Sly’s actions more in-depth, you’ll have yourself an awesome moveset. The only other little kinks I can think of are that his Side Special sounds exactly like Ike’s, but that’s probably just because the explanation’s lacking. Also his Thunder Cane does how much!?

THAT IS ALL

Responses

  1. I’m still new to this so I do realize there would be faults (especially with explanations). And I’m a fan of the Sly series, I would try to make it as close to him in the actual games as possible.

    Anyways, thanks for the info. The criticism you gave will also apply to my other movesets which I’ll also improve on.

  2. Oh it’s definitely better than most newcomers’ first attempts. If you look at it from that angle, you did an absolutely bang-up job on this guy.

    You’ll get better, and all will be right with the world.

  3. Thanks, makes me feel better about it.


What do you think?

Categories

