Posted by: The Stadium | December 4, 2008

The Chief Concern — The Raptors

The Raptors

by Hyper_Ridley

– – –

You have introduced me to a new level of painful character design. Thank you.

Unfortuantely none of us have any familiarity with these characters. At all. The most I know about them is that I vaguely remember Extreme Dinosaurs as one of those super-cool cartoons that FOX ran really early on Sunday mornings that I always wanted to watch as a kid, but was always held back by church services, or simply a general inability to get my 8-year-old ass out of bed that early.

Also I think I might’ve owned an action figure or something. Beyond that I draw a blank.

So knowing that I’m going into this totally objectively and unbiased, let’s tackle this in three sections.

Bad Rap:

What a stupid name for a dinosaur The first thing I notice is that he’s got quite speedy tilts. Odd, since in his intro, you told me that he’s apparently the slowest of the bunch. The Smashes and aerials remedy that disconnect to an extent, but he seems more like the “jack of all trades” than the “brute force”, if you know what I mean. Not really a complaint; just something I noticed early on.

The total lack of a recovery I just flat out don’t like. At all. Even having Backwards Rocket push him forward in the air would be better than nothing, man. It’s not like he has Yoshi’s godly air jump or multiple leaps to compensate, either. The Fair is a start…but it just doesn’t seem like enough.

Otherwise…I kinda’ like him. It’s a solid set of moves, even if it can be a tad simple at times (but then, that’s kind of the idea behind these guys, isn’t it?). The only other thing I can think of is that your explanation of Tag is a little wonky. Could I Wall-of-Pain Bad Rap off-stage before he jumps away, or does he become invulnerable after that initial pot-shot?

Haxx:

What a stupid name for a dinosaur The first thing I notice are those retarded things on his arms is that Lariat Kick is really fucking cool. That move needs to be in the next Smash Bros. game in some way, shape, or form.

His Fsmash literally screams “unknowingly taken from Falco”, and like Bad Rap there’s not too much in the way of “I would have never thought of that in a million years” here…but besides that (and his abnormally high speed–seriously that’s basically as fast as Sonic) I like Haxx more than Bad Rap.

Spitter:

What a stupid name for a dinosaur I don’t think you know how far 1/2 of Battlefield is. Seriously, that’s freaking insane, even if the move itself is a weak one. I only have one other complaint, but it’s a deal-breaker. Using Spider Slime, Spitter can score an early KO (or Bad Rap and Haxx can do that for him), then just hang out underneath almost all stages in the game until time runs out. I propose some limit to the effect, though really one should be all you need if you give him back his aerial jump after he releases his grip.

By now you should see this coming: with a few exceptions, there’s just nothing exceptional about this guy. Or the moveset in general, actually.

There are definitely some fun ideas, and it’s a very well-made, true-to-character, balanced moveset…but it’s just missing that certain panache that makes a good moveset good. I know you don’t want to hear this, but I’m pretty sure that that panache is characters that other people know, or that are at all interesting. These guys are the epitome of bad, early-90s TMNT mimicry, and they’re blatantly so. I even did myself the disservice of watching an episode online…and there’s just nothing of value in these guys.

BUT

I’ll be the first to admit that not all of my movesets, or even most of the movesets in the contest at large, are of people that are widely known. Heck, I’d wager that most of the participants of MYM 3.0 have never once in their lives squared off against Vlad Tepes, the Count Dracula, in a Castlevania game. But at least there’s something to be interested in there.

Like I said, it’s a fun moveset. It’s very well-made (though some fat-trimming could be done–do you really need an “alt colors” section?). It’s even, for the most part, fairly unique. But…

…Well, let’s just put it this way: the most exciting part of this review for me was thinking “OMG BIONIC COMMANDO” when I got to Spitter’s Up B.

Excellent technical work, but don’t expect it to win any awards.

THAT IS ALL

Responses

  1. I was mainly making these guys for fun anyways, so I don’t mind if they don’t win any awards. They’re probably my weakest entry.

    As for Spitter’s U-B (which I also think is the best move in the set), I’m not sure if you could do that strategy, becasue the enemy can break out of it.

    But in any case, glad you at least had some fun reading it.


What do you think?

Categories

