Posted by: SirKibble | December 27, 2008

The Knight's Analysis — Wheelie

[-[-[ Wheelie ]-]-]


– by Hyper_Ridley –

 

I’ll get to the review right after I have a little Kirby Fanboy Attack…

ZOMG IT’S WHEELIE I’M SO FREAKING EXCITED TO READ THIS MOVESET I MEAN I LOVE KIRBY GAMES AND WHEELIE IS A FREAKING TIRE WITH AN EYEBALL BUT YOU MADE A MOVESET FOR HIM AND THAT’S SO AWESOME IN AND OF ITSELF AND I MIGHT ASPLODE WHILE READING THIS MOVESET EVEN IF IT SUCKS WHICH IT WON’T BECAUSE HR MADE IT BUT IF IT DOES IT SHOULD STILL BE TOP 50 IF ONLY BECAUSE HOLY CRAP IT’S A MOVESET FOR A FREAKING TIRE I CAN’T GET ENOUGH OF THAT!!!!

Ahem… Okay, I’m ready now.

Starting at these Standard Attacks, I’m already realizing that my high expectations for this moveset are certainly going to be met! Skids and slides aside, attacks using fire are a rather nice touch, feeling very Wheelie-esque and being worked in very effectively. My favorite attack here is easily the Dash Attack, which basically sums up everything I love so far about this moveset: Loads of creativity; clear, concise explanations; and attacks that are extremely fitting to character. I only have one question concerning the Dash Attack, which is “About how many rocks does Wheelie kick up?” I’m imagining probably 4-5, but mention of a number would be nice. Anyway, that’s a minor thing, and I expect more great things as I make my way to the Smash Attacks!

As I hoped, the Smash Attacks were more greatness! I don’t even think I can pick a favorite move out of these; they’re all so awesome! Very creative, and once again, you’ve explained everything clearly in as few words as possible. I’m impressed with your evasion of fire attacks here, actually. I expected a few more attacks with Wheelie making some flames, but you’ve outdone my presumptions and made three entirely unique attacks instead! Through and through, this looks to continue to be an excellent moveset!

Solid Aerials, especially the Up Air and Forward Air. Those are my definite favorites among these, though I’m also a big fan of the Down Air. Now, hilarious and awesome as it is, I have to stand opposed to the automatic win (or No Contest) Wheelie can score with his Forward Air in Final Smash mode with a Bunny Hood. I know that’s something that won’t happen often, but I must stand opposed to all OHKO moves, and moreso to OMW (One-Move Win) ones. Personally, I’d like to see the “freeze” kept as more of a “slows down” idea as long as Wheelie’s close enough to an opponent, foreshadowing a very powerful attack. The game could then return to normal speed as he makes the hit, which would obviously be very powerful. I really enjoyed reading that, but I’d have to take issue with its actual implementation.

High Beams is a nice little move. I have to admit, I never thought of his eyes as potential headlights! You score major points from me for that alone! The Turn Signal as well is really creative. I’ve been a bit caught up in that, it seems, so I should probably also mention that all of these moves seem relatively balanced. From what I’ve seen, I expect Wheelie would probably be mid-high tier (though I should state that I’m no master at balancing or estimating tier positions), so that’s pretty much perfect. Moving on to the next Special, I see that Wheelie damages himself to recover. Certainly interesting, and actually works well to balance his rather effective recovery attack. Road Trap is yet another good little move, sure to be important to any good Wheelie’s strategy. Now I’m just disappointed we don’t have more wheel-based characters that can have their tires punctured!

Yay, Final Smash! The mere mental image of this Final Smash is enough for me to love it. A very fitting-to-Wheelie Final Smash, and I like that it has that bonus effect on his Forward Air. All in all, this just sounds plain fun!

And a Grab/Throw makes an appearance! Wasn’t expecting that, and the surprise is quite a pleasant one! Very nice, HR. I also like what you did for his Get Up Attack. You missed the backslash on the end tag of the funny little strikethrough, though. 😉

All the Extras are great, from the Taunts to the Alternate Costumes (Wheelie Scooter FTW!) Unfortunately, my intense love for the Kirby franchise is going to have to dock you over 9000 points (wait, we don’t do numbers here…) for the Alternate Unlock Message!! O.o

. . . Just kidding!! This is a truly excellent moveset, and if I dare to go out on a limb here, I’d dare say it’s probably been the most enjoyable moveset for me to read through yet! I’ve had fun reading a good many other movesets, but this one probably takes the cake (ZOMG! Don’t take the cake! Kirby will kill us all!) Overflowing with creativity, well-organized, and balanced as far as I can tell, Wheelie is a definite top contender! Phenomenal work, Hyper_Ridley!

PS: The Smash Attacks were still my favorite, all things considered!

Responses

  1. Whoa, never thought my little tire-turned-move set would end up this good.

    I can see why you might not like the “utimate” fair, though considering it doesn’t actually grant him a win ,I’d say it’s fair, since he’d have to be behind in order for it to not screw him over, and even then its only a draw.

    Thanks for the review.


What do you think?

Categories

