Posted by: The Stadium | January 18, 2009

The Chief Concern — Astro Boy

Astro Boy

by WolfCypher

– – –

Enrgh.

It pained me to write this review. In the far-flung past, I had planned on making a moveset for Astro myself, but it never really materialized. I had some killer ideas for that puppy–how could I not, given how versatile and unique the character is? While I’m not so much of a bigot to think that my ideas are better than everyone else’s…I honestly don’t think you did this guy justice.

The visuals aren’t terrible, the writing and detail are perfectly acceptable…but I don’t think I’ve ever seen a serious moveset so lacking in innovation. I know this is your first time and all…but “Punch” can mean so many different things. And for future reference, you should always always always try to not directly liken any given move to another character’s. Surely the 100,000-horsepower-robot would be at least a little different from anyone else in the Brawl roster…right?

There’s…there’s really not much more for me to say.

Any cool traits, like that perfect CODEC conversation, are completely and totally overshadowed by the utter lack of creativity here. Probably the only reason I was able to imagine some interesting moves by reading your descriptions is because I’m so familiar with the character.

So…back to the drawing board?

THAT IS ALL

What do you think?

Categories

