Posted by: MarthTrinity | February 28, 2009

Trinity's Judgement — Kumatora

Kumatora

By Baloo

Alright, I chose to review this randomly since I’ve been playing Mother 3 since a bit back in the summer, the Sandbags could use a bit of assistance and I need to get some review practice in for MYM5…so let’s jump straight into this, shall we?

Right off the bat you have a special mechanic that doesn’t really do anything, just a nice little bonus…but at the same time I wonder if it’s only for mindgames or something like that? It seems like all it would really do is confuse people…but for all I know that was your intention. The second mechanic is the one that actually plays a big role in Kumatora’s set, the PP mechanic. While I like the concept, it raises a few questions, the biggest one being if there’s a PP display anywhere on the screen. To me it’d be rather irritating to have to micromanage how much PP Kumatora have left judging only from the moves she’s done, so if there was some kind of PP gauge or bar somewhere on the screen that would help greatly.

Moving on to the stats I can’t help but notice that Kumatora’s an exceptional character; excellent power, dashing speed, range and recovery. She’s a moderately small target with about (I’m assuming) Mario weight and has exceptional traction and even an amazing crawl. The only real downside to Kumatora that jumps out at me is her abysmal attack speed but I’m not sure even that can balance it out, I’d look over these again to be entirely honest.

On to the specials now which I like that you have first….the first thing that jumps out at me before anything is the “Neutral Aerial B” which is apparently Kumatora’s recovery. Not a bad thing really, just something odd that stuck out to me. PK Ground seems like an amazing move, fairly good range and incredible KO potential. It seems rather laggy though so I’m not gonna pick on it really, my only question is about what the actual hitbox is, the rocks or the shockwave? Do the rocks just do damage and the shockwave does the damage? Or do the rocks do the damage AND knockback and the shockwave is just visual?

The Neutral B in the air seems broken to me considering I don’t know how fast the PK Thunder moves. An exceptional recovery coupled with high knockback and the ability to angle it in any direction seems a bit too much unless the thunderbolts are incredibly slow.

Brain Shock seems to suffer from the same thing that PK Thunder One Point Five does, it seems like Aura Sphere but better and it even comes with the slim (albeit rare) chance of a one hit KO. Even if you don’t get the one hit KO however, the base move itself does high knockback, also has the chance to stun (meaning you can follow it up with the insanely powerful PK Ground) or has the chance to one hit KO. Also, you say it can be charged, would that simply be to make sure you can hit or does it change anything about the move itself? The sixty PP expenditure attempts to balance it out but it seems like you could knock them away with the attack and then simply use Lifeup.

Hypnosis I kinda have problems with honestly…it’s Jiggly’s Sing, but better. That’s it; better range, better priority, makes them sleep longer and fall asleep repeatedly plus it apparently doesn’t have much lag to it at all. I’d argue that this would be an amazing stall tactic.

Which brings me to Lifeup! Lifeup restores ALL PP in two seconds which (I believe) is about as long as a Warlock Punch, so it’s laggy but not unbearable. Most players would probably just use Brain Shock to distance their foe from them and then Lifeup immediately afterwards to restore back to full PP.

The Final Smash(es) come next and that first one is nuts…Off Rings but harder to dodge is essentially how it comes off as…also having to play as Lucas after it is kind of weird really. The second Final Smash seems just as good but more randomized and harder to dodge unless you’re playing New Pork or 75m. The third one’s just a joke I’m assuming and being a fan of the game I appreciated it…if it’s not a joke, it REALLY shouldn’t be a one hit kill to everyone regardless of location. But I’m assuming it’s just a joke here.

Jab and dash attack are good although I’d like to know how much range the dash attack actually has. But the tilts…this really seems to be the meat of Kumatora’s moveset as it’s the moves that restore PP, allowing her to do MORE moves. Up tilt there isn’t much to say about, just absorbs the nearest magnet, my only question is it says the “nearest” magnet, could you pull a magnet from across the stage or do you have to be a certan distance from it? Side Tilt is the real foundation of this moveset it seems, the PSI Magnet. My question about this move is whether or not the magnets can be destroyed by the opponent. I know it says that once they’ve reached 120%, they explode, but is it possible to destroy them earlier? Do they vanish if Kumatora is KO’d? Just some random questions to think about really. My other comment on this is if the explosions created by the magnets can hurt Kumatora as well as that’s what the last line seems to imply. Down tilt has potential to be devastating but it’s rather balanced considering it has the potential to flop horribly. Oh and one random nitpick is that I’m assuming you meant to write “Up-Tilt and Down-Tilt” instead of Up B/Down B in the front tilt as those moves actually do what you’re implying as opposed to detonating them with Down B and absorbing them with Up B. If I’m mistaken I apologize though.

PK Freeze and Paralysis suffer from the same “high range, high knockback plus added effect and low attack speed” syndrome that the specials suffered from. The possible stun from Paralysis is fine but PK Freeze seems like Lucas’ up smash with the addition of freeze effects. The down smash however is very nicely balanced and interesting.

The aerials all seem fine to me and I do like the concept of PK Steam but it adds a lot to her already exceptional recovery. The down air having the Pitfall effect seems to be a bit much honestly as it seems like the perfect set up for a KO move.

A ranged grab is up next, similar to Lucas’…I love the front throw, saying that now. The rest of the throws are nice and I do like the combo potential for dair -> Neutral B (even though I think it’s still a bit much).

The extras are short but sweet, I’m one of those people who likes more extras but marking down a set for not having every extra possible isn’t really fair so I like what you have. At this point though your links are actually broken, not your fault of course but I thought I’d tell you at least.

As far as the overall is, there’s some pretty big balance issues here in my opinion that could probably be fixed by simply adding some more details. I do like you’re moveset structure and I love the creativity put into the set, but balancing it out a bit would make it far better. My only other minor nitpick (and this is just me) is the percents that the attacks do are written out. While this isn’t a huge problem, it’s always nice to have a solid number there to see. With the balance problems sorted out, this could be a far better set, but as of now, it’s got some problems that need to be sorted out.

~ MarthTrinity

Responses

  1. Yaoi Weekly and MarthTrinity are somewhat canceled out by “Posted by: masterwarlord” :p

    Now for the review.

    Okay, broken. Yeah, I’ll change the stats and stuff. And add that the shockwave, not the rocks, does the damage.

    Brainshock is broken, will be fixed.

    Hypnosis is broken, will be fixed.

    Lifeup is broken, will be fixed.

    Of course, the third smash is a joke. Did you expect anything else? :p

    PK Freeze is broken, will be fixed.

    Paralysis is broken, will be fixed.

    PK Fire is broken, will be fixed.

    Balance is broken, will be fixed.

    tl;dr:

    Moveset is broken, but will be fixed.

  2. Nice first review, MT. Very lengthy and in-depth. =D

  3. K, fixed it a bit. What do you think now, Yaoi guy?

  4. It looks much better Baloo, even the slight adjustments sorted it out quite a bit! ^_^

    And yeah, Mendez is the owner of the word press so only he can register people to be able to post on it, hence why I asked Warlord to post it for me. I love the character Kumatora and was really interested about how you were gonna do the set so I volunteered to read it and I’m glad I did, the creativity for the set is excellent and you did a great job of using moves directly from the game.

    @K.Rool: Thank you ^_^

  5. So it really was you? I thought it was Warlord imitating you. :p

    And thanks.

    RESERVED INFO FOR PEOPLE WHO SEE THIS PAGE

    Expect Duster at 11:58 GMT…

  6. Missed. X(


What do you think?

Categories

