Posted by: metinahurricane | September 13, 2009

The Grey Area — Klump & Krusha

Grey whale.

Grey whale.

Klump and Krusha is a set I reviewed way back when I was coloring my reviews to make them look more interesting (and burning many a retina in the process). I can’t say I was really a fan, although I was intrigued by the idea of having your partner/secondary character be essentially a big fat walking chunk of super armor. It’s a clever concept, so I’m of course interested in how you pull it off here.

(although I was so excited for reviewing Bleak… 😥 )

So first things first, as ever; the organization. I think I’ve said it already, but I’ll reiterate – the font, which worked so perfectly on Voldemort, does not fit nearly as well here. In fact, it’s outright glaring. It’s a very pretty font and all, but organization really needs to convey the character in question, and this does not. What you really need is a nice block-shaped or childlike font to really put one in mind of Klumpa and Krush – ahem, Krusha and Klump. I wouldn’t emphasize it this much, but it actually detracts from Voldemort; it makes it seem like his beautiful visual style is more due to a coincidence than to you picking the font perfectly. Be sure not to repeat it on future movesets.

Let’s get it right out of the way: once upon a time, this would have been the best Kupa set ever made. But I’m spoiled now, you see. You’ve spoiled me with delightful treats like Voldemort and Bleak and proved that you’re capable of making movesets with broader appeal. See, Krusha and Klump is a stock Kupa set. They’re heavily detailed with many attacks that have effects that feel tossed in willy-nilly. They use a variety of props (more on that later). They’re tough to get through.

Now, let me say this: it’s greatly improved. There are many more attacks that do not use props, compared to the original, and, of course, it feels much more focused and streamlined. This is partly due to the changing standards (heavy detail doesn’t fly anymore) and partly to the boon working alone grants you. Joint sets only work when the participants are especially close and have an easy way to communicate: I don’t think you and Warlord had that kind of rapport, especially not back then.

But the thing that bewilders me is, reviewing the original, this one is actually even more detailed! How is this possible? You’ve shaken off the Detail Nazi and proved that you can make concise sets, so why does Klump & Krusha feel like so incredibly overdetailed? Maybe it’s because most attacks are very complex. Maybe it’s because you also need to cover what Klump does alone. Either way, I’m afraid it’s a turn-off.

This additional detail is not all bad: it invalidates something I complained about in the original review, being unable to really understand the mechanic. This time around it seems perfectly clear, you picked up all the missing tidbits. Unfortunately for you, my detail standards have changed. And the other thing I complained about – a lot of oddball attacks – is, for the most part, still there.

One could call Klump & Krusha a prop character, like many older Kupa sets. They certainly use a lot of them. HOWEVER. Outside of the specials, they’re quite sparse. As much as I dislike them on principle, the use of them is conservative enough – that is, there are many attacks that are simple and physical – that I don’t mind it. This has been fixed, and I’m fairly glad to see it.

But the oddball attacks are still there. Hmmm, let’s see. Those specials are larger than any attack should be (with one exception – a centerpiece attack to the playstyle – and none of them are that), and cool as they are, seem a bit much.  The Dash Attack is cool; I can’t complain about it, complex though it may be. But FTilt, DTilt? Both feel like MYM 4 attacks. DSmash is an MYM 4 attack (but I liked it then and I still like it now). NAir and FAir both feel like they could have fit snugly into Cortex & Tiny, which is, I’m sorry, not a good sign. The DAir is unchanged, but as much as I liked it back then, now it feels like it’s been done a few times too many.

And I still think they’re overpowered. The whole idea of having a portable hitbox just seems nigh-impossible to balance.

So here’s the thing: I don’t like moveset remakes. Rarely do they make sets I enjoy, and never will I do it (unless it’s for something that was made so long ago that it’s defunct, and would hardly share a single attack, like Magikoopa). Usually it’s an attempt to fix what went wrong back then, but it doesn’t usually work out that way, because times change, and seeing the same thing twice isn’t all that appealing.

There’s plenty changed in this moveset. Many issues have been fixed and I find less to complain about. By all standards, it’s well made and interesting. But I have a hard time getting especially excited about it, and I don’t suspect I’m the only one. This is the kind of moveset you slot safely into the “Mission Accomplished” dossier, then turn to others to place and compete.

Responses

  1. And consider how quickly I got this review out a kind of apology for taking so long with your buttons. Much as I hate myself for it, I just keep procrastinating… (ONO)

    Let’s just say I remember now why I stopped taking requests in the first place.

  2. “But the oddball attacks are still there. Hmmm, let’s see. Those specials are larger than any attack should be (with one exception – a centerpiece attack to the playstyle – and none of them are that), and cool as they are, seem a bit much.”

    So now the SPECIAL moves can’t be zany? ROFLMAO.

  3. Dude, those specials are MASSIVE. There’s a line between zany-cool and zany-for-the-sake-of-zany.


What do you think?

Categories

