Posted by: MarthTrinity | August 8, 2010

MT's Sunday Recap Episode 49

There was -SOME- reason why I needed to post Tentacool...

Howdy hoes and welcome to the 49th Sunday Recap ever! Crazy huh? Well I’m gonna treat this as a special one since…gasp, I won’t actually be around for the 50th! Yes, as sad as it is (or not that sad really), MT will be out of town from the 12th to the 19th of August. But worry not, you’ll still have a 50th Sunday Recap thanks to agidius who’s thankfully going to be standing in for me next week! My last Stadium post until the day I get back will be Monday’s Graveyard and my last time in the chat until I get back will be Wednesday night. While I’m on vacation, I won’t be checking SWF sadly to say…but my time visiting back home is very limited, my laptop wouldn’t survive the flight and basically I’m sure you’re all sick of me, so some time away from me wouldn’t hurt! I will however be looking forward to all the stuff I’ll miss when I return…I’ll also try my hardest to comment everything currently posted before I leave!

Anyway, as for this week…we had a really full week as the list of movesets keeps chugging along at a steady pace. This week we had six new movesets, one of which was the long-awaited Thrice moveset!

And…that just so happens to be the first one of the week; Childre by Thrice. Now, Childre is Thrice’s first moveset and one that he’s been working on for quite a while. After having MasterWarlord preview it, Thrice began to worry a bit at the reply that it was “good for a newcomer set” and eventually “cancelled” it due to not wanting to post a set that would only be considered “good for a newcomer.” Ultimately though, he agreed to post it if someone else would do the BBCoding for him which SmashDaddy eventually did.

With that out of the way, Thrice posted Childre. Childre is more or less about freezing the foe solid, freezing the ground solid and pretty much freezing everything solid. Not that that matters too much to Childre as he actually gets buffs from running on the slippery ice. Overall reception for Childre was controversy! Dreaded MYM controversy! Thrice seems to hate this set personally and made a point of telling people not to sugarcoat their comments. SmashDaddy left a particularly negative comment about it and Thrice in general.

Moving right along…we had Grunty “by” DiamondFox. So yeah, if you don’t get what’s funny about this moveset, you probably never will. All I can say really is, sorry this happened KK.

Next up we have Ken Masters by TWILTHERO, the second moveset posted for the Street Fighter x Tekken movement started last week. Now, Ken starts off with a warning from TWILT who firmly believes this to be his weakest set so far…he even expected it to be hated by most everyone! For the most part though, Ken is true to his Street Fighter persona and the set itself plays off of this with a rare sight these days; a first person writing style. I of course have to give TWILT flack for including the non-canon Violent Ken from SVC Chaos but that’s more teasing than actually being upset with the set itself. Overall, Ken was met with probably better reception than TWILT expected; aside from a few people disliking the writing style and a few of the moves being rather questionable, Ken went over pretty well considering the anti-hype TWILT covered it in before posting.

And…oh hay! What’s this? A one day Pokeset? And it’s by n88_2004? And it’s Haunter? Pretty cool! It’s kinda funny; as n88 mentioned himself, he’s posted more movesets in the past two weeks than he did in the entirety of MYM7. And, spoilers, he’s made two back-to-back winners in the eyes of many MYMer’s with his Kamek/Haunter duo.

Haunter’s main hook here is probably the fact that he can more or less move between the foreground and the background, dragging the foes into either in order to attack them. If the foe tries to escape, they’re easily punished due to lag. Overall, reception for Haunter was pretty great. Rool loved it and others thought it was pretty good (but not as good as Kamek).

So we’ve had a n88 set, a TWILT set and a set by Thrice…how about another newcomer set? One for the Joker? Sounds good to me! Joker by Getocoolaid as a few have pointed out before me is a set plagued unfortunately by some of the typical newcomer traps. But…yeah, it’s a newcomer set. Rome wasn’t built in a day so you can hardly blame a newcomer for not making a masterpiece on their first attempt. Hopefully Getocoolaid is interested in participating more!

Well we have one last moveset today and that’s one by half_silver28. Funny that Silver posts his moveset for Hitagi Senjougahara (I managed to spell that correctly on my first shot, whoa…) right after Warlord barely cut him from his list of “Top 13 Chat Leeches.” So Hitagi is from some anime even I haven’t heard of but apparently Slash knows about it soooooooo……I’m rambling.

Hitagi seems to make use of her…well…she acts kinda horny, her opponent gets a boner, that’s the set in a nutshell. But a fair unfair/comical nutshell that is! In reality, Hitagi revolves around lowering her foe’s composure so that they screw up their attacks and fall face first into Hitagi’s KO moves and such. Overall reception for Hitagi was horrible. Wizzerd, Junahu and TWILT liked it…but Warlord will probably hate it so the reception was horrible. Except that’s not true; that’s just a joke Silver made in the chat that I’m posting here to be an asshole (H) In reality, reception for Hitagi was good but not quite as well received as Raven.

And that’s all mi amigos! So concludes MT’s Sunday Recap Episode 49. We had six very awesome sets this week as well as a ton of new articles (including a rare one from K.Rool!) so make sure you check out those too! I hope everyone has a great next week and I’ll return on the 19th! I’ll miss y’all and all that good stuff but don’t worry; I’ll still be around until Wednesday night (although I leave early Thursday so I won’t be up that late X_x). But enough about me! Make sure you thank agi for helping with the Recap next week ;P

Hope you enjoyed~<3

MT out (of town)!

Responses

  1. Feels kinda wrong having someone else make the 50th recap, seems like a celebratory landmark. Not that Agi isn’t fit for it, but…

    Positively satisfactory and (hippo) recap. Of the ones you listed, I think one for Warlord and Junahu would take a million years for Rool to write, one for Wizzerd would be, er, yeah… So I’d say Kholdstare.

  2. “Hitagi seems to make use of her…well…she acts kinda horny, her opponent gets a boner, that’s the set in a nutshell. But a fair unfair/comical nutshell that is! In reality, Hitagi revolves around lowering her foe’s composure so that they screw up their attacks and fall face first into Hitagi’s KO moves and such. Overall reception for Hitagi was horrible. Wizzerd, Junahu and TWILT liked it…but Warlord will probably hate it so the reception was horrible. Except that’s not true; that’s just a joke Silver made in the chat that I’m posting here to be an asshole (H) In reality, reception for Hitagi was good but not quite as well received as Raven.”

    (SMIRK) … (D) …. (WARY)

  3. Haunter was actually inspired by a description of the movements used in a particular fighting style used by a Tekken character. So he totally counts as a SFxTekken set. (WARY)

  4. Y’know, I’m pretty sure that GW was next on the list for the MYMer review… even before myself, in fact. (think)

  5. wyvern said something along the lines of “Once I finish my next set, review me,” but yeah, he’s technically next in line. (A)

  6. Yes, I am surprised with the reception Ken got. Bah, I don’t hate my set that much, so eh. xD

    Pretty good recap MT. (chew)

  7. “Kholdstare 29% (4 votes) ”

    …(hug)

  8. Nobody should vote for a MW review. The thing would take until approximately 2076 to finish.

  9. 2076 what?

  10. the year

  11. So you’re anonymous?

  12. That one was n88, actually, but the usual Anonymous is still an enigma.

  13. Er…. bad news, guys. Turns out we’re taking a surprise vacation this weekend, so I’m not going to be able to do the recap… is anyone else up for the task?

  14. I’m up to making the recap. (chew) I would just need someone to post it for me.


What do you think?

Categories

