Posted by: TWILT | December 30, 2010

TWILTHERO's MYMer Interview #1: half_silver28

Soo…welcome to the return of the MYMer Interviews! Yeah, ever since you know who died, I always wanted to take over the interviews. With permission from the current OP (Junahu), I decided to interview halfsilver first. If people enjoy this interview, then great! If you don’t, lolItried. Anyway, enjoy!

1. What do you consider your best moveset and why?
While I do have a soft spot for most of my sets, I’d easily consider Raven my best. I got most of my ideas for her from the Teen Titans show itself, and everything just seemed to come together perfectly from there. The set doesn’t neglect any of her abilities, and fits them together so well.
2. What are your favorite Make Your Move movesets not by yourself and why?
Far too many to list here really. Some of my favorites that aren’t exactly among the obvious choices would be Hyatt by MarthTrinity, Napalm Man by Agidius, Sho Minamimoto by SkylerOcon, Alphonse Elric by MasterWarlord and Anne Elmtod by Junahu.
3. What do you look for in a moveset?
I look for many things really: originality and a fun, well thought-out playstyle being chief among them. I also look at how true a set is to its character, I rather dislike sets that are OoC. I also look more closely at balance than other MYMers I think, I always tend to look critically at a set that’s blatantly over or underpowered without a reason. No matter how in-smash or unsmash a set is, I always picture how it would work if it were actually in the game, and I generally give every set its fair chance. Though bad organization and writing style can easily turn me off of a set, I admit.

4. Where do you get inspiration for movesets?
There’s nowhere I don’t get inspiration for movesets. I tend to make sets for characters I like, either upon seeing the character in a game or tv show or just seeing them mentioned in the chat. All I need after that is a decent playstyle or mechanic idea, and I’m ready to start a set.

5. How often do you cut movesets?
Very very rarely do I actually cut a set. If I decide not to make a set, it’s usually before I get past the planning stages. I’ve dropped only one set ever, which currently resides in the MYM graveyard.

6. How did you discover Make Your Move and why do you continue to create movesets for it?
Back in June of 2008, a few months after I first got Brawl, I was on the lookout for people to play with online. This brought me to SWF, where I made a few noob posts and got some random FCs of other posters. Upon random browsing of threads I came across MYM2, and checked out the sets there and some from MYM1. I made a few sets for characters from Tales of Symphonia in MYM2 and started talking with people like MT and Chris. The rest is history, really. I keep making sets because I enjoy adapting some of my favorite characters to Brawl, and because I know that people enjoy reading my sets (well most of my sets, at least). Except I’m quite sure Warlord hates my lightweight female protagonists, I’m sure (shifty).

7. What can you tell us about you in real life? Do you have any interesting quirks or trivia about yourself to tell us?
I’m pretty boring IRL, lol. One thing is that I’m rather obsessed with Video Game music: I generally listen to it while making or reading movesets or while doing random schoolwork. I will also randomly make playlists on a whim sometimes, explaining why I have length Youtube playlists for random games, animes and Adult Swim bump music. I’ve spent of a total of 7 years in high school and college marching bands, despite not having a lot of talent for it. I also have no balance whatsoever: you should see me try to water-ski lol. As far as other stuff, I’m certainly a bit awkward in my speech IRL, which results in me not talking a lot sometimes.

8. What’s the inspiration for your username?
It really just sounded cool, really. Silver is one of my favorite colors, and I didn’t want to be named just “Silver” anyway. And the SilverStrike nickname that I used for quite a while in the chat was given to me by SirKibble back in MYM4, for those who don’t know. God I miss him (cry2).

9. Who do you consider your closest friend in MYM?
My best friend in MYM… I’d have to say its MarthTrinity. While we didn’t interact that much before MYM4, he was one of the nicest people in the chat and the easiest to get along with. It wasn’t long before I realized that we share interests in anime and video games, as well as a rather easy-going personality. We certainly hit it off as time went on, culminating in our IRL meeting. My other closest friends in MYM would be Kholdstare, MasterWarlord, Thrice and of course you, Twilt (A). I was pretty close with SirKibble before he left, as well as Pelikinesis back in MYM4.
10. Who is your favorite Pokemon?

My favorite Pokemon would have to be a toss up between Crobat and Blaziken, just for their cool factor. I also like Entei, despite him being the most maligned legendary dog competitively. Also Kabutops.
11. What’s your favourite video game of all time?
Oh god. I’d certainly go with Tales of Symphonia if nostalgia counts, though Chrono Trigger and Ocarina of Time come closest to beating it for me.
12. So, whatever happened to your Darknite friend?
He’s not dead or anything: he just never got too far into actual movesetting. I still hang out with him pretty regularly, playing Brawl and random RPGS (notably games from the Tales Of series).
13. What was it like meeting MT in Las Vegas, NV?
It was awesome, trust me. MT’s one of the coolest guys ever. We spent about 3 hours bumming around Gameworks, playing a bunch of MvC2, House of the Dead and other stuff. Just spending some time in person with him was the best thing though, and we had some really fun moments in that short amount of time. It was worth almost passing out from the heat the previous day. Take it from me, don’t go to Vegas during the summer D: .

14. Considering you watched over 40+ anime, anyone of them that sticks out as a favourite?
There have been quite a few that I really enjoy. There’s Cowboy Bebop, Hellsing Ultimate and Ghost in the Shell among my favorite action titles. Death Note and Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni are my favorite suspense shows, while Excel Saga and FLCL are some of the best comedies I’ve watched. Bakemonogatari is another one that I really like, while Inuyasha I mention for getting me into anime in the first place.

15. Remember when I first graped you? (smirk) What was it like?
I do not (WARU). But I’m sure you enjoyed it (SMIRK2).

16. Any movesets for the future?
My major solo set planned for the future is Rita Mordio from Tales of Vesperia, and of course there’s the joint set with you, Karas. I’m also been seriously considering a set for Wakka from Final Fantasy X, to continue the chain of FFX sets.

Responses

  1. Ah yes, I just want to add that this is going to be the same format as Wiz did (same 10 general MYM questions, with 5-6 questions related to the MYMer himself).

    Hope you guys enjoy! :bee:

  2. Who the hell voted “other” and then didn’t post who? I voted Rool BTW (WARY)

  3. Not sure if these are better than Wizzerd’s; still, interesting interview and nice to see them return.

  4. Interview wrk (SMIRK)

  5. Actually

    Interviewing Wrk would be an absolute terrible idea


What do you think?

Categories

