Posted by: TWILT | January 27, 2011

TWILTHERO's MYM'er Interview #5: Plorf

This was one of my results when I googled Plorf. Yeeeaahh....I have no idea what it is either.

And welcome to another episode of the MYM interviews! Yeah, sorry for the delay and all. You can blame a certain person who took like a year to answer his questions, but that’s all in the past right?! Anyway, for this week’s interview, we have the one and only Plorf! Now, you can say all the bad things you want about Plorf, but you can’t deny that he tries his hardest when MYMing. Anyway, enough talk! Time for the interview.

What do you consider your best moveset and why?
Oh man, I have to get back into MYM mode to even think about that; I’ve been a bit off lately. Umm, I would have to say the stuff I worked on fairly recently: Kingdra comes to mind; I still really like how that turned out what with the flow of it and the way everything worked out; VAN Pookin I like despite it being kind of rushed– it’s more unique than I expected it to be. Still, I can’t not like Metal Man or any of those really old things, it’s just that I think I’ve improved since winning 9th place my first contest (HIPPO)

What are your favorite Make Your Move movesets not by yourself and why?
Every now and then I’ll read a moveset that just makes me feel good while reading it; these tend to be from K.Rool or Junahu. Those guys have a really cool way of approaching movesets, so they’re fun and engaging, while still bringing something new to the table. I’m also a fan of some earlier works like Mach Rider, or a personal favorite Big Daddy and Little Sister.

What do you look for in a moveset?
I don’t really ask myself this question, but, err… let’s say I like things to be in-character, creative in terms of playstyle, and this is more of a personal thing but organization is always a nice touch. There have been plenty that don’t always fit those criteria, but for the most part that’s what I like to see.

Where do you get inspiration for movesets?
In my random browsing of internet stuff, often game wikis or Youtube, I come across a particular character that seems really cool or perhaps has a lot of potential, so I end up getting a huge pool of thoughts to work from. Though it depends; Metal Man was not my decision but just a follow-through with that failed MM2 thing

How often do you cut movesets?
There have only been about three movesets I’ve started and never finished; and only one that I had actually done work on and cut is Magman from Kirby 64 (I might finish that sometime). HOWEVER, in terms of dropped ideas and “plans”… oh god I can’t even count

How did you discover Make Your Move and why do you continue to create movesets for it?
Well, I was interested in Brawl and even made a few “specials-only” movesets before I even found MYM, but here’s how I found it. Basically, when Brawl finally came out, I was in a continual habit of sucking at it. So I talked to a friend who was decent at it and he told me to go to Smashboards

And so while browsing through GBD I found this cool topic called “Make Your Move 3.0” and lurked there until finally participating at the end of MYM4.

What can you tell us about you in real life? Do you have any interesting quirks or trivia about yourself to tell us?
Um, the most interesting parts about me are psychological, I guess. By that I mean the way I think seems to be different from most people I’ve met, and that’s kind of neat. But I’ll tell you guys some things I’m doing. I’m really getting interested in a few topics, like game design, the environment, psychology, and anthropology. Hopefully I can find a job somewhere in that, since honestly the way I’m doing things right now makes me feel like a waste of resources unless I do some stuff that could actually help the world– I’m really concerned about population growth/global warming/etc.

What’s the inspiration for your username?
In 6th grade I doodled a lot on my papers in class, and I would often write nonsense words that I thought sounded interesting. For some reason I kept writing “Plorf” and so when prompted to make a username on some sites, I decided I’d use Plorf and it stuck.

Who do you consider your closest friend in MYM?
After like two years, I’m friends with all of you guys really, but the ones I feel closest to are probably folks like MT, K.Rool, Agi, and JUNAHU THE ELDER why did I say that

Who is your favorite Pokemon?
I don’t have a single favorite (who does) but for some reason I like the weirder ones, like Magnemite, or Porygon, or Geodude, or FLOUNDERP

Basically, the Pokémon that are either unnatural or not humanoid in any way.

What is your favourite video game of all time?
I’ll be honest with you; I haven’t PLAYED as many games as your average gamer-dude, but the ones I do play I love. Halo series, Kirby series, Mega Man series. Favorite are TF2, Halo Reach, Transformice, Kirby Super Star, and of course Brawl

You occasionally make movesets for characters from games you have limited experience playing, such as your Pokesets. Why, and how do you think it changes the way you approach these characters, if at all?
Well, I grew up with Pokémon (a least the first generation) by watching the anime a lot on TV, and collecting the cards. I didn’t have a console until recently though, so I’ve never had experience playing the games. So I always make these Pokésets since I like the unique flavor of each different Pokémon, seeing how I can make them not just a collection of moves.

With Mega Man, I got into that BECAUSE of MYM; thanks to Kibble and Agi. And at that time I couldn’t really play MM games either; I had never played them before. What I do for both series is use game wikis, videos, and sprites to try and and get an accurate picture of the character and I hope it works out– the last thing I want to do is piss people off about someone being out-of-character

What can you tell us about your relationship with Sundance?
You’re implying that we’re not the same person (HIPPO)
But really, it’s pretty good. We joke around a lot and sometimes get into fights but we’re bros and it can be scary how similar we are in some ways

How does it feel being one of the most made fun of MYMer?
I took it really personally for a long time, and I hated that aspect of MYM. Eventually though, I realized we’re all friends here, and I accepted as just something that was.

What is it like constantly having your picture photo shopped into numerous amusing pictures?
Even with the jokes, these shoops always get me at least a little mad, just because they’re using MY face even though you guys haven’t actually met me in real life. Though I try not to take it personally now; it’s not like they mean anything

Responses

  1. Believe it or not, my friend actually drew that picture for me xD

  2. make a moveset for it

  3. Why am I not a option for interviewing?

  4. I think he just picked a few people for no particular reason. Don’t worry, I’m sure he’ll get around to you sooner or later.

    Speaking of which, I’m still mystified as to why “interview remixes” are being considered when the questions on these interviews are nigh identical to Wiz’s questions, and plenty of people haven’t been interviewed at all yet. (CRS)

  5. *Sigh* I’m picking people who are on the poll who A: Have a good background history, B: People I’d think that’d be interesting to interview, and C: Who are more than active enough in the chat. So please, just calm down. I’m honestly running people to add on the poll too. I’ll get to everyone eventually, I promise, including newcomers if I can too.

    As for the interview remixes, I’m actually working something up that’ll be different from the previous interviews that Wiz did. You’re actually going to get -2- interviews next week, so yeah.

    Sorry if I seem a bit rude in this comment.

  6. *Running out of people

    Wow, I need to check my sentences more. (wary)


What do you think?

Categories

