Posted by: n88 | October 7, 2011

Nate’s Article – Legos are Perfect

For a change of pace, I will not talk about MYM at all in this article (beyond this short, sweet little intro). Instead, I’m going to spend a little bit of time talking about why I love Legos so much. You can infer what you will about my design philosophy from there.

So, long before I was ever a MYMer, I was in love with Lego blocks. In fact, I actually got my start in internet creativity competitions on a website devoted to Bionicle, those nifty action figure Legos you should all remember. But before I just get toing on a big Nate-centric storytime, let’s get back to the main point; Legos are excellent. Everyone who makes use of creativity in any way, shape or form should mess around with a bucket of Legos at least once a week.

What makes them so amazing? Well, for starters, their basic structure.  Many, many blocks are simple variations of each other, the same template in different patterns; one with a different color, one with a different number of studs, another with rounded edges, a variant 1/3 the height of a normal block, and so on and so forth. And of course you have your specialty Legos, the ones that only show up every so often.

Now, when you go to build a model, you are not looking to use the most unique pieces possible. A set made entirely of golden Piraka spines (one such spine is pictured above) would look terrible, on top of being structurally unsound. Does it hurt to try to incorporate the less-used pieces? Not at all. If you can invent a new use for a piece, especially one previously regarded as difficult, then good on you, you’ve definintely accomplished something. But your ultimate goal when building a model is not to use unique pieces; it’s to create a unique combination of those pieces.

And I could dig up a million more pictures of awesome things built from these simple blocks. Thousands of minor variations and countless ways to combine them makes for infinite possibilities. Given the right pieces, it’s quite possible to make absolutely anything at all; you just have to know how to go about connecting them. Because you can’t just go about connecting them in any way you want as long as it looks cool. Some thought has to be given to the structure of the design, and how you want to create a stable and functional model. The way you connect things is just as important as the blocks you use. A small change in either could easily throw off the whole shebang.

While I would love to ramble on for a bit, as I originally planned, I do believe I have made my basic point. Yes, I know, this is a very short article. Perhaps it will spawn a series, in which case you can consider this a brief intro. Now go play with Legos, everyone, or you all fail Nate 101.

Responses

  1. I totally agree.
    also, I totally lurked on BZPower for years, never once participated in the BBC contests
    lolololol


What do you think?

Categories

