Posted by: phatcat203 | November 8, 2011

In Which Phatcat Blows A Fucking Gasket.

As you all should hopefully know by now, there’s been a bigass scandal involving the MYMX votes. As you should also know, I think something should actually be done about it, apparently unlike a good portion of you. It seems that Smady’s recent article has gotten everyone in the mindset that this whole thing should be put behind us. This is at least partially because this whole thing is unpleasant, and maybe partially because you people don’t like any of the parties involved(see: everyone).  Well, here’s some news for you: I hate this entire fucking thing too, and wish it had never happened. But too bad, it did, and things like this shouldn’t just be ignored. Now, onto the meat of the article.

I think the biggest thing here is that Smady hid all of this from the entire community – he’s admitted(assuming he’s telling the truth and didn’t just modify the votes to his liking) to disqualifying an entire vote list, making huge mistakes(as in, 3, 5, or even 9 points on many different sets) on the top fifty counting and -never mentioning any of this- for some reason, even to the other leaders. No, Smady, it is not your “duty” to hide the fact that you fucked up majorly, like a little boy hiding a broken figurine from his mother, and I’ve no idea how one could see it as such. In fact, it’s your duty to tell others that you made mistakes, and then do your best to fix them. You may be doing this now, but people have had to metaphorically hold you at gunpoint to get it done. Also, it’s about a month and a half or so late. And you’ve said nothing about actually fixing the top fifty.

As for the legitimacy of the votes Agi and I are getting: you cannot expect people to trust you when that sentence implies that you trust absolutely none of them, for one. For two, most people sent their votes about 5-10 seconds after I asked them to; those would have to be some very quick(not to mention totally blind) edits. And to be honest, if people metavoted, then they did it for a reason, as sleazy as that reason may be. Changing their votes for this poll is counterproductive to that reason, especially when they have less info on it than they did originally. That whole point also doesn’t even matter anymore, seeing you’ve just said you fucked up the votes(accidentally or on purpose, whichever one), which is what Agi and I were trying to determine.

Hell, here’s an idea: if you were so overwhelmed by the responsibilities of Vote Guru, you could have simply asked for an extension, or for someone(Junahu has explicitly said that he made it clear he would help) to count the votes separately to make sure everything was right. MYM would not sacrifice you to the skull-fucking, Plorf-eating lions because you wanted to make sure you got our fucking votes correct. There was no reason to simply decide: “Fuck it, close enough” and never speak of the ordeal again, especially if, as you say, you knew you were wrong. Of course, this is assuming you are telling the truth here, and didn’t modify the votes on purpose.

I of course doubt that last part, as you(at first) said I sent in some vote list that lacked any weak votes. Then, when Agi said weak votes in fact had nothing to do with it, the story changed; now I’d apparently sent you a list that was simply “different”(like, drastically altered supervotes different) from what I said in Xat and sent to others, though you could not remember -how- it was different. I’m almost certain I did neither, much less both at the same time through some Dragon Ball Z-esque alternate timeline. You also say you contacted me about it, but hey, let me guess, that PM is gone too? I don’t remember any such thing,as I’ve said before. Overall, though, that doesn’t matter, seeing my votes have little impact when things are off by quite a lot even without them.

No, what matters most to me is that everyone is 100% willing to believe you after this little article. I had to go through hell and high water to get all this information out in the open, and still nobody would have believed me if Agi hadn’t had a hand in it all. And you know what? -I was fucking right about this all along.- Something was wrong with the top fifty, be it vote modification, vote disqualification, or simply 1st-grade-level math skills. Now, you all may say that you have reasons to believe I was lying, but really, no; no you do not.

If anything, I am one of the most brutally honest people in MYM – if I like you, I will tell you. If I do not like you, I will tell you, and will generally tell you why. The only truly dishonest thing I’ve really done concerning MYM was the whole Thrice fandango, which, if you will recall, was meant to last a maximum of about a week, before I jumped out of a cake(which are ALWAYS lies, FYI) like a bachelor party stripper and yelled “PHATCAT’S BACK IN TOWN, BITCHES!”(citation needed). Then it turned out that a good deal of you hated the original Phatcat. The fuck was I supposed to do at that point? Just make you all hate me -more- by saying I was an alt? I actually like you guys, and you liked Thrice, so…yeah. And no, before you go there, trolling, which you all seem to think is like, my “thing,” is not being dishonest; it doesn’t involve lies(at least not when I do it), just being an asshat, which a lot of you would agree is my general personality. Which makes me -more honest,- if a bigger asshat. The only argument I’ve heard at all is that me and Smady are not on good terms. Okay, that’s blatantly obvious, yes. However, what you fail to realize is that argument also applies to Smady, canceling out the whole thing and making it mean zilch. Bottom line: if you don’t trust my word alone, you shouldn’t trust Smady’s word alone either.

Yet still, you people, the same who wouldn’t trust me, choose to trust Smady, who has(among other things) admitted(again, assuming this is true and that he didn’t mess with the votes) to discounting an entire vote list, and knowing he was entirely incorrect about the votes….and never mentioning any of this, and submitting the votes as if they were 100% legitimate, instead of bringing the issue up or passing the position onto someone else. None of you find this suspicious at all, because..uh, he’s Smady, I guess, and he…comments. Yes, commenting and making movesets apparently makes you a trustworthy person and means you can do no wrong. Because, you know, that’s totally how the entire world judges others. Not through whether they’re actually good people or not.

Now, I’m not explicitly saying Smady is lying, I’m saying you shouldn’t trust every goddamned word that comes out of someone’s mouth just because they said those words all sweet-like. Not to mention some of you are now treating it as if this whole thing never happened, simply because that’s more convenient for you. Note to you guys: apologizing is basically admitting you did something wrong. Admitting you did something wrong DOESN’T MAKE IT ANY LESS WRONG. Nor, as every kid who ever got bullied knows, does it mean the person is legitimately sorry for what they did.

 

And now, I sleep. When I wake up, I expect to have been ostracized by the MYM community and be generally hated for expressing any sort of opinion; please don’t disappoint.

Responses

  1. It’s not that people assume you’re lying, it’s that your side literally can’t win. People are innocent until proven guilty, and it is impossible to prove anything past math errors. It’s not like nothing is coming of this though, as the vote guru system is changing in response to this, preventing both future errors and purposeful vote fudging. Nothing more can come from this, so you really need to let it go.

  2. Pretty much what LL said.

    I’m not exactly happy about this, and I admit the whole thing is pretty stupid. But I guess we should just put it behind us for now. The one thing I’d like to see is the two vote guru system. And to be honest, I’d rather not have Smash Daddy ever be vote guru again.

  3. People aren’t vying for my blood like you because this community is forgiving and willing to listen to others if they’re willing to admit their mistakes. We saw it with Spadefox, Tanookie and I’m sure people would welcome back Wizzerd with open arms. I’m doing all I can to make sure nothing like this happens again – that’s the best thing I can do, and trying to continue conflicts is the worst idea right now.

  4. Good thing to see that the voting system is going to get a rehaul though, but I still think that voting requirements and number and distribution of votes needs some reconsidering. I’m no stats major, but I’m not sure that the value of each category of vote is properly balanced.

  5. “I’m no stats major, but I’m not sure that the value of each category of vote is properly balanced.”

    Junahu was going to run some tests on that, DM, but he didn’t get chosen as vote guru. 😉

  6. indeed I was.

    Not sure what ‘unbalanced’ means in regards to the vote values, but without test data, any change we make would be purely speculatory

  7. What I mostly mean is that I’m not sure the weight we give to Super Votes, Regular Votes and the like, and more importantly how many votes we actually have to give, is within the lines of the weight we would like them all to actually have on a set’s rankings.

    Yeah though, no matter what it’s going to be a lot of guesswork :\

  8. the number of votes given was always supposed to be dynamic, dependant on the number of sets to vote (about a 1/3), but of course “we must uphold tradition and have our Top50” mentality renders it rather pointless.

    Don’t open up the can of worms where we debate what value a Super Vote should have over a Normal Vote. It was dark days back when it was “double”

  9. I would just go into Xat and say this, but it just will not load. Maybe there’s some conspiracy there, like it’s connected to the Nostalgia Critic site or some shit.

    Anyways, Smady, no, this community is in fact not forgiving at all. At least, most of the major members aren’t. Prime example is me. My trolling days ended over half a year ago, and yet here I am, relegated to “eternal troll.” Even when I am fucking right. Smady does all of this shit, on top of his gratuitous past mistakes, and gets off with losing a title he earned by shouting “DIBSIES!” before anyone else could(note: this is also how the MYMX PKS program worked). Really, I wouldn’t care who it is at this point. It could be goddamned Silver or MT or Chuck McFucking Norris, I’d still be pissed at them.

    And LoL, I understand. You don’t want to look like you’re doing anything spiteful because you know people will 100% not trust you and think you’re staging a coup d’etat. I get it. The thing is, I am no longer talking about how the vote totals are wrong. I’m talking about how he admitted to doing all this stuff…and that apparently makes it all fine and dandy. So he confirms he hid just about everything from us, and we’re supposed to just forget it.

    You said we can’t prove anything beyond math errors, right? Well aren’t you fucking obtuse? I’m talking about the stuff he outright admitted to doing, if he’s not lying – going behind everyone’s backs, discounting at least one vote list, knowing he messed up everything, and keeping it all hidden from us. Not even asking for help. Not even EXPLAINING WHY HE HID IT FROM US. We’re supposed to accept that it was his honor-bound duty to lie and hide everything from his fellow MYMers.

    And he -ADMITS- to all of this; there’s no doubt that this all happened. All of this should be enough to get Jesus Goddamned Christ(AKA MT) thrown out of leadership and boiled alive in his own mother’s blood. It’s not a matter of trust, vendettas, or proving anything anymore; it’s a matter of what we do now that we -know- he’s a lying, manipulative bastard. He has confirmed this; there is no doubt and it is not just me ranting.

  10. Whoa, whoa! Let me put onto the record here: I am perfectly fine with the fact that Smady disqualified my vote list. It was an unprofessional list of opinions and it didn’t even have Baron on it, so he had every right to be suspicious.

  11. Previous gurus have done stuff as bad I did and while that doesn’t justify it, it proves that the system itself is flawed. I’m not the first guru to discount a list and it wasn’t out of spite. And that’s all I have to say, because I’m not full of vile and insane hatred like you are yourself showing.

  12. Why, PC, if we kick Daddy out we might as well abolish leadership altogether. We’re standing here reevaluating how the voting system works, almost all of us – including him – agreed that picks/kicks/shifts are no longer necessary. The ONLY other thing that they do is keep the moveset list updated, which – guess what? – is something Daddy does. He’d keep doing it even if he wasn’t a leader, I presume; I’m sure he wouldn’t just give it up out of spite, just as Junahu still keeps the MYmini pages updated.

    And at that point what on earth is the difference between a leader and a non-leader?

  13. The difference is that leaders are meant to be respected. Someone who lies, cheats, and hides everything from the community should not be respected. I am all for abolishing the leadership, as I’ve made clear – it is wholly unnecessary and only causes conflict, much like this.

    And what he is doing now does not make up for what he did; prove that he is in fact entirely untrustworthy. I don’t know how you can get over this so quickly, Rool. Is it because you know you’ve done things like this in the past, and thus are numbed to them? It’s not okay just because someone else did it, and I feel that anyone who has done anything like this(be it you, Junahu, MT, or Smady) should not be let back into leadership. Which basically means that since apparently every single person in the contest is a git undeserving of any amount of trust, that there should not be any leadership. We should just accept we’re all assholes, put ourselves all on even footing, and get the fuck over the high and mighty routine.

    And Smady, as I said, if this were MT, MW, Rool, Junahu, or anyone else, I would be full of just as much pure hellfire fury as I am right now. I’m pretty pissed at them right now, knowing they’ve done things like this before.

    And I do somewhat suspect MW as having a part in this as well, seeing he and you often go hand in hand. At the very least, I expect he knows more than he lets on.

  14. I’m not too pleased and I can’t say I’m over it, PC, but as Daddy has pointed out again and again, I would be a hypocrite to condemn him now.

    I’ve already given what paltry defense I can. I’ve said many times that I regretted discounting the votes of people like kirbywizard back in MYMs 5 and 6. It was a mistake and times have changed. The number of voters has been cut many times over and some ground rules HAVE been established in the leadership. The protocol now is to discuss disqualification with everyone; back then, there was no such protocol and every votelist was pored over by Warlord, who often disapproved. I argued where I could and conceded in places where (I had to agree with him) there was no reasoning behind the votes.

    It was a bad system; now we have guidelines on how to tally votes, and we don’t share them with Warlord anymore. Thank god for that. I never took the initiative and discounted a set of votes on my own – never. But all the same, I’m the pot to his kettle, and while I can steam and bubble a little bit, I’d rather put my energy into thinking about how we can get something positive out of this. You see what I mean?

  15. I understand, Rool, but I don’t think people should be forgiven and incidents forgotten simply for the sake of progress. Putting your differences behind you to solve some common goal might work in movies or life-and-death situations, but there’s no need here.

    As for the whole discussion thing, you are discussing it with who, exactly? Junahu, MT, MW, Smady, and Kupa? What about the rest of MYM? If you lot want to keep the leadership so badly, it should be voted on by the people like we planned before,, not decided by those whose words have a heftier toll because…they just do, and you’re not supposed to question that. I suggest that you actually have people actually come forward and announce themselves to be in the running; otherwise you get a lot of votes wasted on people like MT(and yourself, unless that has changed) who simply do not want to be in Leadership.

    I wholeheartedly agree with two Vote Gurus – in fact, I was the one who came up with that idea. I even suggested that the people send their votes to a -third- party just to be totally positive.

  16. “As for the whole discussion thing, you are discussing it with who, exactly? Junahu, MT, MW, Smady, and Kupa? What about the rest of MYM? If you lot want to keep the leadership so badly, it should be voted on by the people like we planned before,, not decided by those whose words have a heftier toll because…they just do, and you’re not supposed to question that.”

    Discussions have been raging pretty furiously through the chat, although they’re slowing down now. You know full well that I don’t want to “keep” the leadership in any way at all, that I’m 100% for democracy (to the point of being branded some sort of warmonger a month ago, you’ll remember), and that I’m absolutely against the leaders behaving like their opinions are more valuable or truthful than anybody else’s.

    This ongoing dialogue of articles isn’t over. We’re going to have to have some seeeeerious exchanges about how to handle the next voting period, and what has to change within the leadership. But although you’re definitely given the short stick by MYM sometimes, in this case the community is willing to forgive, and the anger you feel just plain isn’t there. Nothing will come of this.

  17. I find it awfully weird that literally -everyone- is willing to completely and totally ignore this entire thing. I remember MYM7, and Thrice, and basically every single screencap ever made. MYM is not known for forgiving ANYTHING, no matter how minor. I honestly just feel that some people(MT, Silver, LoL, and others) simply don’t feel the need to comment on this, or even care. They’re fine with being ruled by cheaters and having a community with no sense of justice, I suppose. I’m not, and I guess that means I’ll be hanging up the MYMing coat permanently if this continues. You win, I guess.

    And these people that are discussing things in the chat, who are they? It really doesn’t matter – the chat isn’t saved, and nothing can be taken from discussions held it from anyone who wasn’t directly there at the time. Make these discussions wholly public, say, in the thread or an open roundtable. Then you’ll have a point.

    Edit: Apparently LoL is now officially a leader. After all this, the leadership just keeps going on its merry way with absolutely no change, and nobody sees a fucking problem with it. I’m not saying I expect him to be bad leader; I fully support the decision, and I know a lot of people do, but the fact is you’re just doing the same thing you always planned to do, and showing no effort to change anything.

    After such a fiasco, matters should be done slowly and not rushed; and taken to the actual people it will affect. No, current leadership, who gets in will no longer affect you at all, seeing the PKS system is being abolished. We understand that, but you should generally show some care towards the others in the contest.

  18. “I understand, Rool, but I don’t think people should be forgiven and incidents forgotten simply for the sake of progress. Putting your differences behind you to solve some common goal might work in movies or life-and-death situations, but there’s no need here.”

    … Really, PC?

    That statement is just so blatantly ignorant that… I don’t really know what to say. People with differences can’t work together unless it’s life-or-death? What sort of logic is this? Not even going into all the joint sets and movements different MYMers have done together over the years, that sort of thing happens all the time in real life. Daily, even.

    I can understand a little bit if you were just talking about MYM, but the way you worded those two sentences implies you’re also referring to life in general. And if that’s the case, your stupidity astounds me.

    To top it off, PC, you’re getting this from ME of all people.

  19. I can understand being upset, but I have to come down on the side that prefers reform to retribution. I could turn this into a big multi-paragraph response, but that seems unnecessary.

    • Ah, but which side is which? Can you tell from just looking at the situation? Is the angry side the retribution side?

      The world is only black & white if you let it paint your senses that way.

    • Here I am trying to express my opinion in a very concise way, and Rafiki has to come in and call me out on the vagueness of my comment. (CRS)

  20. Monkey, there is no need here – one person did something that I hate and I’m not willing to work together with him ten seconds after he did it. I’m not talking about EVER, I’m talking about when they’ve done something recent. Say someone shot your wife in the face; I think that’s a fairly accurate analogy. Okay, then they ask you if you want to go get ice cream. You say fuck them, unless there is something very wrong with you. Or unless you’ve already killed them, in which case this situation would probably not arise. Or unless you two eating ice cream together is the only way to keep the entire universe from imploding.

    That last part? Yeah, that’s not gonna happen if we get a little pissed off instead of coating Smady with sugar and rainbows, Monkey.

    • I agree with you on that, PC. Again, the way you worded your statement made it look like you were speaking in general. If you had just stated “I’m not willing to work together with him ten seconds after he did it,” I wouldn’t have gone off like that.

  21. umad. (chew)


What do you think?

Categories

