Posted by: metinahurricane | November 10, 2011

Blowing the lid on Warlordgate ’09

I sit here in the middle of yet another controversy, even if none of you know it yet. I’ve had this unspoken duty since MYM 4: do not let Warlord put his paws on raw voting data. And I did my job well enough, always with this unspoken truce between Warlord and I. He doesn’t try, I keep quiet about what could have been the biggest scandal in MYM if I had brought it out to the public.

We’ve alluded to it before. Maybe some of you know bits and pieces of it. But now he’s made himself vote guru, and there are two reasons I truly, direly disagree with this:

1. Warlord is the least tolerant MYMer in existence. He has been known to lampoon the opinions and especially the votes of others. He JUDGES you by your votes. He doesn’t show the slightest discretion and the idea of confidentiality is completely foreign to him when it comes to this. In other words, every quality we want in a vote guru is missing in him. Even Daddy, despite his recent blunders, understands the point of keeping votes between him and the voter.

2. Warlord is more invested in the top 50 than anybody. As we’ll see here, he has outright cheated. Not possibly, like Daddy. Not accidentally. Not even just a little bit, like Spade. What he did, however long ago, is inexcusable.

And yet I did excuse it. I kept quiet about it. I kept his secret. I forgave and forgot, joked about it with him. This was a very peaceful, chill time in MYM, and I let it slide because there was no way to go back.

But today I go to the chat realizing that he’s suddenly a vote guru, and this exchange occurs:

So much for everything I thought. All the excuses I made for him. “He’s matured,” I told myself. “He wouldn’t even dream of something like that nowadays.”

Yes, LoL is there to cover us on this front, but human error exists and once you see the proof I think you too will be wary of Warlord’s intentions. And even if you’re not, Point 1 stands. It’s not like there are no alternatives. It’s not like there aren’t people who DON’T have distant histories of cheating out there.

So let’s set the scene. MYM 4 voting time. Your votes could be sent to any of the sandbags, and then the sandbags redirected them straight to me. I received votes from evilgidget – we know him, right? not a very active character at the best of times – and the incredibly obscure, inactive airsmasher. Here those votes are, sitting neatly in my inbox:

And here are screencaps of the two actual posts, which, yes, I’ve saved for two bloody years. As you can see above, I’m a packrat – I save certain PMs if I find them significant.

note the awkward capitalization of “Evilgidgit” that should have given it away in a heartbeat if I had been remotely looking out for it

note the heavy voting of Warlord sets and the faked bad spelling when the real airsmasher was actually pretty literate

And now here is a post in the thread – which you can all go ahead and look up, here’s the link – in which I’ve crossed off gidget and airsmasher because I’ve received their “votes”.

So the top 50 went up without a hitch. And then both gidget and airsmasher somehow wander back to MYM, and they don’t seem to have voted (in fact, they seem clueless to the fact that it’s too late anyway).

It may be MYM 4 and I may trust Warlord, but I see what’s gone down. You saw in my inbox that the two sets of votes had identical titles and were sent around the same time. I sent Warlord a PM that is, yes, deeply embarrassing to me now, and does not reflect well on me in any way. I laughed with him. I made a point of NOT making it a threatening PM. It was a peaceful time in MYM, and Warlord and I were good buddies. I was a very mellow guy. And nothing would be gained from outing him, because we could hardly go back.

I’m not making excuses for myself. None are possible. If I have to “go down with the ship”, so be it. But the secret I kept is going to start being actually relevant, and so I’m finally airing out the skeletons in my closet.

Here’s Warlord’s reply, complete with my original message to him:

I’ve regretted those so-called “epic lulz” since. At the time I was frankly pretty bemused and nobody was too concerned with our current righteous morality and fairness, least of all me. I let it slide, and, well, there it is. And I’ve kept the secret since because of lingering loyalty, and because it was always tacitly understood that it wasn’t really a secret.

Well, now he denies it. So much for maturing over the last two years.

“Whatever happens, you can’t tell anyone”, he said to me.

Well… MYM 11 Rool apologizes to MYM 4 Warlord. And I might as well apologize to MYM 11 Warlord, too, since he’s not so very different, even though we’ve split apart in too many ways to count. You’re crossing a line, man, and I won’t be an accessory to it anymore.

I give this to you, folks. I don’t want you to crucify him. It was too long ago for you to justify that, nor does he deserve it today. But I feel it’s my responsibility, even as an increasingly disgraced vote guru, to tell you: do not give him this post. I don’t care whether LoL is there as a check on him. Warlord’s the wrong person to put in that position. He knows it. I know it. Now maybe you know it. And even if you don’t – even if you decide, bygones are bygones, and it’s been long enough – at least I can breathe easy knowing that all the cards are on the table, my conscience has been cleared, and an eye will be kept on Warlord’s vote tallying.

Once more, I apologize. On my own behalf, and on his.

Responses

  1. Way to post this –now- after we’ve just done a good job of finally quieting things down. Why didn’t you just post it after MYM 4, when it would’ve meant something? You’re a co-conspirator for not revealing this crap.

    Hell, Smady got about a thousand different calculations run on him, and when –I- was caught there were multiple people receiving the votes. Not only were there no other vote gurus (Which we will now have – I’d never let myself be the sole vote guru and intentionally avoided it all these years as a sort of repentance when I could’ve easily given it to myself), but we can never check your math now because all those votelists from all those people in the distant past are long since burned. Lord knows you wouldn’t keep all those PMs when SWF originally only had 50 PMs worth of storage.

    But yes, as for the screencap of me denying it, it was in the public chat. True, nobody but Smady was there at the time, but anybody could’ve come in and seen it. More importantly, it gave you this screencap fodder. If I was seriously going to deny it, I wouldn’t be stupid enough to give you ammunition. I’m not Khold. Rool and I have these sort of mock conversations all the time in private chat. Plenty of people already knew about this before this article was ever posted. I told several of them. I’ve nothing to hide, and I would say that I respect MYM far, far more than I did back then to ever consider doing such a thing. Everyone knows I just roll my eyes whenever MYM 4 and earlier are brought up in a discussion of which MYM is “the best”.

    And yes, I admit to being a general terrible and completely idiotic person in MYM3/4. You only have to look up a random post from that time for quoting material – even Smady finds it immensely humorous to dig up dirt on me from that time. The posts from me are almost entirely unrecognizable from that time.

    Again, though, even if it’s been 3 years – I’ve never put myself in a position to do this ever again. You know I wouldn’t of taken the position if they weren’t another vote guru who had plenty of highly differing opinions on movesets from me.

    • Only three things:

      First, yes, I am a co-conspirator. I accept full blame and don’t expect to be made vote guru again. But I will say this: I swear on the holy ghost of movesetting – whether that’s KoJ or Mendez or Fawriel or whoever else – that this was the worst thing I ever did. I haven’t given MYM a reason to distrust me, I hope. This is as close as it comes, and although I have no excuse, I’m now standing here entirely bared.

      Second, that you avoided being vote guru deliberately when you could have easily gotten it is just plain wrong. You know there would have been an uproar, and you know that I would have brought this into the public light. I wish I had done it earlier, but the consequences would have been too extreme if it was still fresh.

      And third, I misinterpreted you. I thought your denial was sincere. If I say “I’m going to warn LoL, just so he knows what to watch out for” and you say “I’ll deny it”, the pretty obvious implication is that there will once again be something to watch out for. That’s what triggered this, and I’m glad that it isn’t the case. Your response is reassuring to me if anything. Like I said, all cards on the table. Nothing to hide.

  2. M-m-my poor sweet MYM4…… 😥

    I…really don’t know what else to say… (cry2)

  3. Chilly got a vote in MYM4! 😀

    (D)

    So, is this a case of jumping the gun on a scandal?

  4. “That you avoided being vote guru deliberately when you could have easily gotten it is just plain wrong. You know there would have been an uproar, and you know that I would have brought this into the public light. I wish I had done it earlier, but the consequences would have been too extreme if it was still fresh.”

    And? More finger pointing every which way from the previous controversy. If you recall I let -you- of all people have the damn position for a pretty long time.

  5. This is why I sent my votes to Kibble.

  6. “I give this to you, folks. I don’t want you to crucify him. It was too long ago for you to justify that, nor does he deserve it today.”

    I wonder if Spade got away with cheating back in whatever MYM it was.

    I tend to forgive but never forget. But the fact that MW said he’d try this shit AGAIN? Even AFTER he is caught? Rool already took responsibility for this but I find this ironic:

    “More finger pointing every which way from the previous controversy. If you recall I let -you- of all people have the damn position for a pretty long time.”

    >calls finger pointing
    >points fingers

    (tipsy)

  7. I said finger pointing -every which way-, and referred to the previous PC vs Smady debacle, in which it did indeed devolve into. I was fully calling myself out on my own finger pointing as well.

    But yes, I like to believe I’m a different person now, -3 years- later, back when we all took MYM about as seriously as Khold does now.


What do you think?

Categories

