Posted by: HalfSilver | November 21, 2011

Silver’s Self-Ranking that No One Cares About

So I was planning on making an audio version of my self-ranking, but I wanted the particular combination of Smady, MW and MT to be a part of it so it wouldn’t just be me rambling on and no one caring.  Smady is important because the audio would be shitty if he wasn’t recording it, and MT is important for another perspective from a MYM2 vet.  Unfortunately Smady’s schedule is hard to coordinate with MT and MW on the west coast, and both MT and myself are working, which limits our time.  So I just gave up on that.  Instead, I’m just gonna post the notes I wrote up on each of my sets.  These are in chronological order instead of actually ranked: I’ll post my personal ranking at the end of this article.  And now, the sets.  I’ll explain what I wanted to

Sheena Fujibayashi: Upon discovering MYM, this was the first character that popped into my head to make: Tales of Symphonia was the first console RPG I ever played and I hae a lot of nostalgia for it.  My first set ever, Sheena was your basic MYM2-quality moveset.  She was essentially a more defensive-minded Sheik, and most of her attacks may as well have been Sheik’s.  Her specials were really just copypasta from Tales of Symphonia.  There really isn’t enough to say, though I actually really like her final smash, which covers all the elemental spirits from the game.

Lloyd Irving (MYM3): Lloyd I tended to look back on quite negatively, but it was an actual improvement from Sheena.  While he is full of copypasta, there were some actual original ideas in there and he’s much more interesting than Sheena.  He  can actually play a decent keep-away game with demon fang and such, and can protect himself from non-laser spam projectiles with down special.  And he’s got several movement attacks in the specials to traverse the stage safely.  Though he is pretty much just a generic sword fighter for the most part, I feel I did a much better job of repping the series with Lloyd.

Colette Brunel (MYM3): Yes I posted both Lloyd and Colette in the same post, along with every extra known to man including several assist trophies and a freaking boss.  Pretty much anyone who wasn’t a huge Tales of Symphonia fan was never going to read either of them ever, but being so naïve at the time I expected all my sets to place for whatever reason.  For Colette, I look at her positively compared to my other early sets.  While she is just as heavy on the copypasta as Lloyd, she actually has some playstyle simply because of the types of moves she has in the actual game.  She’s really little more than a generic camper, but she has many projectile or magic-based moves that she can fire in all directions.  She can make it really hard for anyone to approach her by combining Para Ball and her chakram projectiles, and then fend off aerial attacks with anti-air projectiles.  And all the camping lets her charge up Angel feathers so she can pile on more damage.  It’s pretty simple, but it’s better than anything I made until MYM5, really.  I’m sorry.

Stanley Yelnats (MYM3): This is why I don’t make sets for random-ass characters.  Stanley is randomly the only pre-MYM5 set of mine that Warlord remembers, just for being complete epic lulz.  I basically just threw in random shit like having him use Clyde “Sweet Feet” Livingston’s smelly shoes for multiple moves.  Besides that I just randomly throw in a counter that randomly summons other characters, and I just make the up special a copy of Sonic’s with the pig that caused Stanley’s family to be cursed replacing the spring.  Yes the pig just dies.  Also Sploosh ololol.  . . .maybe I should remake this set. . . his playstyle can be digging a hole five feet wide and five feet deep.  Because how dare anyone think about stage altercation in MYM2.

Batman: Maybe someday I’ll finish Batman 2.0. . . anyhow.  I thought this set was such an improvement at the time and I was extremely pissed when it didn’t place.  Looking back on it now, this set was quite nearly an abomination: it was barely better than Stanley.  This set is insanely prop-ish with Batman using random ass gadgets for his smashes that aren’t even really supposed to be used in that manner.  It makes this seem like a damn joke set when I’m trying to be completely serious.  He does have some ways to confuse the foe or stun them with Batarangs or random gas, but this set is really random and completely unfocused otherwise.  Though I still really goddamn love the forward smash.  It’s basically just the epic as shit finishing blow Batman delivers in the animated series opening sequence put into the set: I carried that over into Batman 2.0.  As for that, I realized how horrible Batman 1.0 was a long time ago and started on the remake, but I kept getting caught up in other things and kind of put it away.  But seeing as I am “retired”, I might just finish that set up and post it because why not.  Also those extras.  Oh god those extras.  Why did I spend so much time on that shit (NO).

Spyro: Spyro was the set I finally started changing things around. . . but it quite nearly got worse before it got better.  This set is messy to the point that I kind of had trouble with the reread: both organization-wise and attack-wise.  He’s really all over the place when it comes to attack selection, with me practically taking more influence from Legend of Spyro (which I haven’t played) than from the awesome original series.  At the very least he controls like he does in the original games: being hard to control while dashing and having an awkward air game despite being able to glide.  But essentially with all the random ass MYM4 creativity moves he had, his playstyle is reduced to running around and spamming projectiles, which is more what Legend of Spyro is about.  So while I started off well. . . everything just went downhill from the start.  At least I cut down the random lulz attacks to one this time. . .

Midna: This is the first set where I was actually really recognized as a setmaker and not JUST the MYM awards guy.  This set got far more attention than anything I made before, partly because of Midna’s status as a Brawl/SSB4 candidate.  This is really the first set I made where I tried my best to represent the character and series through the set itself rather than just copypaste-ing the set together and putting an obscene amount of effort into extras.  The moves weren’t really THAT interesting, but at least they were actually original creations and not a mess of random creativity and stolen moves like Spyro or Batman.  And Midna actually does manage to have a theme with her playstyle in that I made her a glass cannon, though back then, I didn’t represent that very well with her attack damage and stupidly high lag times.  While Spyro was like this as well, Midna’s numbers and shit were bashed heavily by MW in his review: remember when random number crunching could make or break a set? (TIPSY).

But I certainly got her character down in her specials, and through my use of a first-person writing style; something that had only really been done before in Viola.  Though Junahu has done several sets that used the style since, and stuff like The Prince and Scout have gotten praise for that.  I mostly succeeded I think by restricting the first person writing to general descriptions and advice rather than writing the entire set that way.  I usually find it awkward when the character talks about their own moves’ damage and knockback.  The side special here essentially set the framework for a similar move that would appear in Raven, and the neutral special was a chargeable projectile with multiple forms depending on charge time.  This type of move would almost become a trademark of mine through MYM5, with Shana and Excel both possessing this.

Yuji Sakai & Shana: So Warlord. . . how many MYMs later did you actually read this set?  I thought for quite a while that this set deserved to place more than Excel, and that hasn’t really changed.  But I do know that this set has a lot of positive and a lot of negative as well.  The organization of this set is pretty damn horrible, by that I mean much of the main text is red for the sole purpose of making everyone’s eyes bleed.  Aside from that, this is really the first time I attempted a specific concept for playstyle rather than just hoping everyone would work out.  I did this through adding some mechanics to the Ice Climbers style of dual character movesets.  I could really describe it as being Colette with power: Shana and Yuji focus on hitting with powerful attacks time after time and controlling the stage with projectiles and traps.  And they don’t want foes close for that long, so Shana can charge up her fire sword’s power.  When Yuji gets KOed, Shana is far from helpless at first, but Yuji’s absence takes an emotional toll on her, which eventually saps her power and makes it impossible to power up.  A weak solo Popo is doing nothing more than fighting for his life, but Shana is blitzing the foe to try to kill them as quickly as possible, or one could say she’s trying to get revenge for Yuji.

I’d say I made more creative attacks for this set than for Midna, though I did copypasta many moves from the series admittedly, and the generic sword attacks bored the MYM4/5 crowd that valued individual move creativity above all else.  I’d say this set’s major flaw is that I fell back into old habits with my fanboy-ism.  The long character background and my insistence on having readers memorize terms and other information I suspect scared some readers away, along with that horrendous organization.  And yes, I went crazy with the extras on this set: I didn’t really stop making extras until freaking MYM7, so hippo.  I still very much have a soft spot for this set and the way I handled characterization and the mechanics, even if it wasn’t the best in readability.

Cammy: Yeaaaaaah. . . to put it lightly, Cammy was a major step back for me, and of course Warlord read her and not Yuji and Shana at the time (HIPPO).  I won’t deny that I love Cammy as a character, but I just did so many damn things wrong with this set.  While Cammy doesn’t really have a huge amount of potential, there were some interesting things from Street Fighter IV in particular that I could have included, and repped that game in-particular like Cody did many MYMs later.  But nope: I was going to make this set for Street Fighter Alpha 3 Cammy if it’s the last thing I did.  I wanted to use goddamn gifs, so most of her attacks were pure copypasta for that reason.  And when I actually did use stuff from Street Fighter IV, I pretty much stripped it of any interesting elements and just made generic attacks.  She pretty much plays exactly as she does in the Street Fighter series, complete with a Super Meter that she needs to fill up by attacking to do a Super Combo.  And super meters work –so- well in movesets, amirite? (HIPPO).  When I did the majority of the writing for this set, I was feeling incredibly shitty and sick with the flu, so I pretty much just kind of rushed through it since the end of the quarter was coming up and I needed to do projects as well.  This is a great example of how –not- to do a fighting game moveset.  At least I can use her low potential as an excuse. . .

Excel: So Excel. . .she’s a set that would’ve fit better in MYM4 than at the end of 5, after playstyle had been “discovered”.  I didn’t really use first person writing here so much as I just took quotes from Excel Saga and edited some of them a bit.  And every move is just based off of one of those quotes, resulting in one of the most random movesets to ever exist.  It is very fitting though, seeing as Excel as a character is randomness embodied.  I tried to really represent a whole series’ worth of randomness in this set, partly inspired by Mendez’s Naota set from MYM3.  Of course Naota manages to have some sort of playstyle and Excel. . . essentially does not.  She’s got some individually creative moves like the neutral special and up throw to transform them into a PRETTY GIRL CHARACTER and a random bear. . . oddly enough, I haven’t seen the concept of transforming foes into other forms very much in MYM.  She also has a mechanic inspired by Junahu’s Viola centered around throwing Menchi (the dog) at foes.  Granted I used the concept pretty poorly and was far too focused on making the set before the deadline.  After I made that abomination of a Cammy set, I really just wanted to make another set so I could put that failure behind me.  The only reason that anyone even liked Excel back then was the complete hilarity of the quotes and movesets, and the “writing style” is the only reason I look back on Excel positively.

M. Bison: This is delicious.  Bison was essentially produced in the same way as Cammy, but unlike Cammy, I had quite a bit of potential to work with.  I also stayed 100% true to his “Final Bison” form from Street Fighter Alpha 3, including very little from SFIV and his non-game appearances.  And thus I just –had- to have him randomly call his dolls as minions, which I didn’t even link Cammy for since I hated her set so much (tipsy).  His playstyle as a whole isn’t much different than in the SF games: capitalizing on opponent mistakes with Psycho Crusher and such while keeping them at a distance.  The neutral special basically acts as his Sonic Boom and lets him always be able to approach despite his low speed.  Along with the down smash, he can easily set up multiple hitboxes and make it tough for foes to dodge, and just combo them against the down smash wall.  Overall though, the best strategy with Bison is just pushing them back to the edge and knocking them off so he can use his surprisingly potent gimping game.  Yes, he can do aerial Psycho Crusher and stage spike them for the KO.

But looking at a lot of what I wrote, I overlooked a lot of stuff that would have seemed obvious for me to implement now.  If I made it so the down smash wall reflects projectiles, Bison could reflect his own projectiles into it with forward tilt and just volley them back and forth.  And well, I didn’t even mention how Bison can reflect his own projectiles in the set, so yeeeeeah.  The truth is that the vast majority of the stuff in this set is still copypasta, and the stuff that isn’t is either boring as shit or really irrelevant.  And some of it is even taken from other street fighter characters: the up and down smashes might look familiar to some of you. . . they’re taken from Rose and Urien respectively.  The best thing about this set is the Balrog assist tropy.

Raven: Now, forget the top 10 and top 5 and all that shit.  Raven’s the only set of mine to place in the freaking top half of the top 50.  Anyhow it’s pretty obvious why this is the case: Raven’s a nice sort of fusion between a camper and a trap character, though I’d hardly call her a true camper or a pure trap character.  She requires a bit of set-up like a trap character and you could say that she ‘camps’ in an unorthodox manner using her neutral special, which if you recall creates a playable duplicate or “Soul Self” of Raven that can be used to fight in her place.  And of course the big plus of using the Soul Self is that it can float and phase through shit.  But Raven herself has to make sure she’s well-covered first, which she can accomplish by setting up walls and different traps, and creating random shadow beetles to run between the walls.  Most of Raven’s other moves work around this, letting her phase under walls quickly to avoid foes and pull foes right through the walls, and even the random-ass dair can give her some free time to set up.  And finally there’s that forward special telekinesis (did people actually complain that 4 paragraphs is too long? X_x).  This makes Raven’s control over the stage much wider as she can toss items and foes around and move walls and platforms wherever she wants.  On that note, I probably should’ve mentioned that Raven can toss her own walls as projectiles.  But you’d have to admit, it’d be hilarious to get a KO by pulling a moving platform out from under a foe as they’re falling.

As is always important for me, Raven is pretty fiercely in-character and utilizes pretty much all her abilities well.  The most interesting moves were 100% inspired by watching Teen Titans, and somewhat by her canon powers.  If there’s anything to complain about, this is really where my bad habit of smashing bunches of fanservice into the throws began: it would get much worse with my first MYM7 set.  Though the forward and down throws are the only questionable ones with Raven, the down only being questionable because of the random prop when she doesn’t really have a reason to use any.  Regardless, this set can still stand up on its own today, more so than many of my later sets.  Raven’s probably my favorite though.

Rena Ryuugu: Rena was posted more than 4 months after Raven.  Yes I had a very busy fall with college, so it took me 4 damn months to finish this set.  Anyhow, Rena is a character who has nothing BUT characterization for potential, and a meat cleaver.  The set is mostly playing with her sanity, with Rena being a straightforward combo character while sane, smacking the foe around with her schoolbag, and a murderous psycho when she loses it.  Rena’s whole mechanic is probably one of my personal favorites with how I handled it and incorporated scenes from the series into ways to play with her sanity without it coming off as awkward.

That being said, I don’t think I did as well as I could have with the actual moves.  Several moves where sane Rena brings out the cleaver to attack (despite her using the back of the blade) pretty severely undermines her comboer playstyle for me, and I really should have made her attacks with her bag even weaker than I did.  And insane Rena has one too many ways to rack damage effectively: sane and insane weren’t really differentiated from each other that well.  And I have to single out the up and down throws as essentially, the worst ones I’ve ever written.  The down throw just has her poison the foe and make them take constant damage for the rest of the stock. . .while insane.  Rena just has a godly damage racking tool while outside of her mode that is supposed to specialize in it.  And where to begin with that up throw. . . Rena just has a kawaii-gasm and tries to carry the foe off in the most blatant fanservice move I’ve ever written.  People found it funny at least. . . Part of me wants to blame all the shit I messed up with this set on the freaking 4 month timeframe I made it in, giving myself plenty of opportunities to contradict myself idea-wise and playstyle-wise.  All that resulted in a set that could only be appreciated by fans of Higurashi and people who liked the random lulz like Chris.

Psyduck: I have tended to avoid making pokesets in MYM, mostly because my sets are so character-focused and not ability-focused.  But this whole damn one day pokeset movement started up, and I wanted to contribute.  While I didn’t make the whole set in one day, I actually wrote all the moves in a single day.   Usually I make many, many changes to my movesets before I complete them, which is why I take a long time to make them.  I didn’t have that luxury with Psyduck, so I based the entire set around his headache mechanic.  Psyduck’s head essentially has its own damage counter, and Psyduck’s full powers are unlocked when 60% damage is dealt to it.  There are many, many ways this can be accomplished.  You can use some moves to put Psyduck’s head in the way of attacks, or you can trip.  Psyduck’s tripped animation has him hit his head, and he has terrible traction to boot.  You can use Water Sport to make Psyduck more prone to tripping (but more resistant to grabs), and other water-based attacks to drench the stage and make it slippery as well.  It seems all too fitting how Psyduck’s clumsiness as a pokemon becomes a good thing in this set.  Psyduck’s other moves consist of some weak psychic moves and projectiles to simply keep the foe away, along with Amnesia, which increases Psyduck’s survivability at the cost of an input.  Fun fun stuff.

But once Psyduck does unlock his full powers, he ultimately becomes far less interesting. His few standards that end up changing just become essentially, generic attacks, though he can at least float with Confusion and try to gimp with psybeam.  There isn’t really much Psyduck has in the way of flowing moves, beyond stunning with psybeam or psychic to set up for other attacks.  And yeah, Psyduck was generally very underpowered damage and range-wise.  By that I mean I still used stage builder blocks for measurement.  There’s not really much I could have done to fix the set beyond just completely replacing the majority of the attacks.  Confusion I could’ve made a more subtle attack, with Psyduck using it to make foes slip up and hit him in the head or redirect projectiles to his head.  And stuff like Low Kick and Water Pulse was just random as hell and thrown in because of the rushed nature of the set.  That being said, I still like the mechanic and many of the ways he gets damage on his head.  So there’s that.

Gambit: SO SMADY.  Remember when I bugged you for months to actually work on the set?  And I was still writing the playstyle section 2 minutes before the deadline?  Good times (TIPSY).  Regardless, the flaws of this set are out there for all to see.  While Gambit was a true collaboration between MYMers unlike some other joint sets, we really made zero effort to match up our writing styles or even make some consistency between our moves.  Yes, Smady and myself have completely different writing styles that could never be well-matched, and both of us wanted to go a different direction with the set.  We never really communicated well, which is unthinkable now since everyone and their mom uses Skype.  So yeah, Gambit struggles to find consistency between utilizing his classical powers and MvC2-inspired stuff like randomly enlarging cards (I never played much MvC2, I admit).

That being said, Gambit still does have a lot of merit.  I love the mechanic we came up for him: the differences between the suits are quite vast and allow him to control large parts of the stage.  The splitting properties of the diamond suit in particular can really restrict the foe’s approach options.  And when there are heart cards looping around back at them or clover cards sucking their life out, this can get rather aggravating for them.  It wasn’t mentioned in the set, but he certainly could use forward tilt to reflect his own heart cards to make life even harder for foes.  Gambit’s also got plenty of ways to fill the air with cards: either as projectiles or lingering hitboxes.  This really becomes all about reading the opponent: Gambit needs to gauge their reactions to being pressured with each suit, and figure out when to use anti-air moves, when to mess with their spacing with forward smash and when to protect himself.  Gambit’s close range moves are mostly there just to keep the foe away from him, and his bo charging move makes his moves hit them FURTHER away.  The down special is also very useful for this: the foe’s instinct will be to run away when Gambit uses it, letting him get his desired spacing.  His throws though are rather irrelevant: I wrote the majority of them back before I even made RAVEN for gods sake.  And I actually like his final smash.  The set was still very messy, and I’m still somewhat surprised it placed (though it was the only set the MYM7 OP made all contest so hippo).  No offense Smady, but we were a pretty bad match for joint partners.

Hitagi Senjougahara: By the time I posted this set, it had practically been eons since I last made one, considering production on Gambit started before I made Raven.  Gambit was posted in late March, Hitagi was posted in early August.  That’s almost 5 goddamn months between sets.  I did have a lot going on with college, notably me spending most of the summer in Germany.  Thus most of my time was spent hanging out with study-abroad peers and exploring a really awesome foreign country.  I wanted to relax with what little time I had to myself, and do shit like get raped at Territory Wars and watch Fate/Stay Night.

Hitagi is unique in that I came up with the mechanic first.  It started off as seducing the foe, and I considered making a Morrigan set with that mechanic.  I ultimately decided to apply the mechanic to Hitagi, and changed it to focus on unsettling the foe with insults and sex appeal rather than seduction.  That was really more fitting for Hitagi, considering how she acts in the series.  Regardless, the set centers around Hitagi constantly throwing insults at the foe and constantly spacing herself so she can hit with other moves to unsettle the foe.  Moves like the forward tilt are also great series references, and I particularly like giving the foe a Melee Peach upskirt with up tilt (SMIRK2).  It also helps to hold them in place with her down tilt glue trap or to hit them with down smash, which either slows them down or deals a lot of extra damage depending on how the foe reacts.  When foes get too close, her grab and many of her throws are good ways to unsettle.  Her up and down throws come from specific scenes in the series: while they do seem pretty fanservice-y, they at least serve a purpose unlike that crap that Rena had.  I do see Hitagi as Rena+ sometimes, since they’re both incredibly character-focused movesets that use psychology-based mechanics.  Unlike Rena though, Hitagi had actual decent potential with her school supply gimmick, and the set itself was much sleeker.

As foes lose their composure, their attacks will randomly flub more and more often, which makes it easier to Hitagi to go for the KO with her normally very risky up smash and gimping moves (she has a tether recovery).  Up smash buffs some of her moves, but the “weapons” she uses for it can be destroyed and become unusable.  This makes her spacing moves vital to help her get a hit.  I do really like this set, but I suppose that filler was an issue here.  The side special, many of the aerials and the back throw could have easily been replaced with something more relevant.  This is most true for the down air, which is the only move that sticks out as unneeded fanservice.  I’d like to think I succeeded in making a set here that mostly balances traditional movesetting tropes with a very character-based approach that fans of the series could like.  The witty quotes helped too.

Miroku: This set was also posted nearly 5 months after my previous one, though in this case I was busy during the fall and didn’t have any time at all to work on movesets.  I had already started Rita’s production, but I knew she wasn’t going to be done for quite a while.  So I just went ahead and made Miroku first on a whim.  I had considered a set for this guy in the past, and it was pretty obvious that his set would have to center around the Wind Tunnel.  With such an uber-powerful move being the centerpiece, this set became an exercise in balancing early on.  I ended up making Miroku’s sutras very important tools for stunning foes.  They aren’t affected by the Wind Tunnel, so he can pull foes through a chain of them and suck up the stunned victim.  He has several moves that blind the foe with light or with purifying salt.  One of Miroku’s more interesting maneuvers involves lighting purifying salt on fire with his flaming sutra.  That fire stuns foes for a long time if they’re caught in it, giving Miroku great opportunity to suck them in the Wind Tunnel.  He can also create holes in the ground with the Wind Tunnel, which Miroku is adept at pushing foes into and keeping them there with stun moves and against-the-wall combos.  The healing/purification properties of some of his moves make him a good 2v2 partner, and help keep the set true to Miroku’s profession as a monk.

Then there’s the downside: Miroku has filler, and a lot of it.  The aerials were pretty blatantly rushed, and other moves like the up smash didn’t really serve much of a purpose.  It did make a bit of sense to give Miroku a good gimping game, since he can push foes to the edge and knock them off easily, but they didn’t serve much purpose other than just generically spiking foes down into holes or traps.  Miroku’s one of the few sets I feel could have really benefited from a preview, with me kind of giving up on coming up with more relevant attacks in some cases.  Maybe I could have had Miroku able to reposition his sutras with an aerial or something?  Regardless, this set was a bit of an experiment on my part: seeing what I could do in a week or so with a character completely reliant on one move, and I rather like the majority of what I did with him.  And I had the restraint to not include Miroku’s lechery in the moves themselves for blatant fanservice fail.  So yeah.

Rita Mordio: Now Rita. . . yes, she had 41 inputs.  In hindsight she. . . probably didn’t need all that much.  While most of her spells do work together and have a purpose, some of them just tread over the same ground and could be cut.  What I was working towards with Rita was a set that truly carried over the play from the modern Tales Of series with the huge variety of spells, Over Limit and the like.  The problem of course, is that Junahu created a very similar set with Arche in MYM6.  And I was already very inspired by that set in separating Rita’s spells into Basic, Intermediate, Advanced and Altered.  And I included spell saving in the set as well, which of course was the original “Junahu plot twist”.  So I felt the need to separate Rita from that as much as possible.  Thus I did not require Rita to switch between the spell sets, letting her use them all at will, I squashed all the spells into the specials to free up a full set of standard moves, and included Over Limit to allow Rita to make quicker chains of spells.  I did view Over Limit as necessary in any regard, since Rita has no way to hide herself while casting aside from using some of her more defensive spells first.  Like I said, I probably could’ve very much increased the readability of the set by cutting down on the spell inputs and maybe putting some spells in the smash inputs.

Anyway, Rita has spells for basically every situation.  Basic spells and other spells like Spiral Flare to apply pressure, Tractor Beam and Ivy Rush to trap them, and a wide variety of spells to protect Rita and damage and KO foes.  Her earth spells take advantage of prone foes too.  Some of the best stuff here are the interactions between spells: Freeze Lancer can freeze her ice spells solid to provide additional protection and Rita can burn up the vines of Ivy Rush while foes are stuck in them to deal monstrous damage.  One thing that I probably could’ve added in regard to Ground Dasher’s destructive power is that it can create a powerful hitbox by bringing down ice structures or other rocky structures that Rita can create with Stalagmite and such.  Tidal Wave is just a cool attack in general, letting Rita hide her incantations behind swirling water, though I guess that’s just her version of that goddamn obscuring smoke that’s in every set ever, so whatever.

The standard attacks for Rita didn’t really turn out as well as I had hoped.  It was true that I had a few more inputs in fill than I should have, but the main problem was how vague my plans for them really were.  I wanted to design them for the purpose of “getting a lot of hits”.  Yeaaaaaaah.  Aside from having Rita spin around with her scroll extended to get multiple hits and the dash attack allowing her to keep pursuing or to make a quick retreat, most of her moves could easily be replaced and not really change the overall set much.  Many of the worst offenders were in fact moves taken from the game.  There are only like 2 people in all of MYM that have played the game (one of them being Chris who hasn’t read sets in millennia), so in hindsight there really wasn’t much point in keeping those.  And I didn’t really need both the up and down smashes to do essentially the same thing, though I did like how the two interacted with each other.  And I kind of threw away the potential presented by Rita’s spellbook.  Rita can magically attack with its pages and block attacks with the book itself, so that probably could’ve been worked into a counter move where the pages lash out and hit anyone who attacks the book.  Aside from that and replacing smashes with some spells, I probably could’ve really benefited from previewing here to help me think of stuff.

There was so much really going into this set that I never thought much about characterization, but it WAS there.  It was Smady that actually pointed this out in his comment, but Rita’s very high learning curve and complicated mess of interactions was very in-character for her.  Rita is such a headstrong and prideful character: it’s almost like Rita herself compiled all this information and just said “YOU want to play as me?  You’ll have to memorize all these spells first!”

Wakka: Just like happy festival fireworks, ya?  Wakka was in fact directly inspired by Jecht, which was, no offense, one of the WORST movesets I’ve ever read.  Jecht is not manly enough to deserve that type of parody.  Anyway, Jecht actually did take a unique approach to turning the match into a Bliztball game before he just devolved into shit after the specials, and I got to thinking that I could pull off the idea well.  Of course I quickly realized it’d just be weird to turn the game into an entirely different thing and force foes to “score goals” when they are unequipped to do so.  Wakka ended up being influenced more so by Strike Man and sports in general.  His characterization centered around his trademark abilities from the game and his role as a sportsman both in and out of battle.  He reps bowling, basketball, volleyball and soccer/football at times, which I think fits his tendency to goof off and be that comic relief character.

I felt it was pretty natural to allow Wakka to use all his inputs while holding Blitzballs and have him handle the throwing and the infusing of magic through the specials.  He always attacks with the Blitzballs in-game and is always holding them, so to me it made sense for him to use them in practically every move.  Though Smady apparently loves the shit out of Wakka as a character and thinks it’s an unholy aberration that he doesn’t start every match holding a Blitzball like he does in FFX.  But yeah, Wakka takes advantage of the elemental interactions that Rita had pushed previously: not only by directly infusing said elements into balls but by placing elements on the ground via bowling.  By combining the elements you can create some ice that makes balls move and bounce faster, some electrified water or even make the water turn to mist so foes don’t know which way to expect a ball from.  The status effects he can infuse the ball with as well as fire are there pretty much to weaken foes so they can’t approach.  Combining that with ice or fire on the ground can pretty much make participating in a ganon-esque projectile match with Wakka their only option.  The fact that he can only combine status effects and elements indirectly encourages him to spread his Blitzballs across the stage and pretty much pull out Blitzballs to replace old ones the second they get knocked off-screen.

The majority of his standards have the purpose of reflecting or deflecting Blitzballs: either directly knocking them back or hitting them into the air so he can smack them from there.  He really doesn’t want foes near him, so his attacks at close range generally combo at low percents or are straight-up GTFO moves.  That really only leaves stuff like, the dash attack to force them into traps, and some other moves like his chest bump and down aerial to quickly scoop the ball up and do whatever with it.  Even better, just bouncing it off the ground and leaving it be can be intimidating in that he can hit it with another ball to pass off magic and mess up the foe’s timing with deflecting attacks.  Wakka just throws his balls everywhere, drags them on the ground: they fucking smack against each other;  goddamn balls of steel.  All in all Wakka’s probably one of my favorites, the only real issues I can think about are a few attacks like the forward smash since lolpoisondamage is pretty unneeded in the set as a whole.  The absolute worst is the back aerial, because I just haaaaad to put the goddamn Jecht Shot in (HIPPO).  It’s way too goddamn laggy to be of use when Wakka has a ball (though I could crunch some numbers to fix it) and it’s essentially a worse Falcon Punch when he doesn’t have a ball.  Not to mention its way too slow to deflect a thrown ball properly.  I pretty much accomplished exactly what I set out to do here: create a respectable set around the idea of Blitzball.

Clare: Yes yes yes, everyone thinks I’m 100% retired now just because I said Clare MIGHT be my last set.  Probably should’ve just not said that in hindsight, but it was 4 am as I was rushing this set out before I left for the weekend.  Just saying I wasn’t gonna read every set in the contest anymore would’ve sufficed really.  But anyway, Clare was somewhat strange for me in that I don’t find her that particularly interesting as a character, yet this set still got made.  I had been considering a set for other characters from Claymore until I realized that Clare had the most potential to do something very interesting.  Clare I would most closely compare to Yuji and Shana, being an actual sword fighter with superhuman abilities that requires a little background knowledge of Claymore to be fully understood.  But Clare doesn’t require nearly as much, just a few terms to memorize.  She is certainly unique in how she forces the player to make a decision on how much Yoki power to use.  They can use none and play a very defensive, grinding game and capitalize on mistakes, or they can go crazy with power and never let the foe out of their grasp with pure speed and power.

Even more unique about Clare is how her specific moves and strategies don’t change much when she utilizes her power, outside of her fully awakened state.  She always wants to be fighting at close range, reading the foe and countering them with her sword strikes or literal counter moves like the up special.  Her forward and up tilts greatly discourage foes from rolling behind her, and the threat of side special or down smash discourage them from rolling AWAY from her.  She’s got moves to space and generally mindgame foes too, just waiting for them to slip up.  Once she does manage to get a hit or a grab in, she can combo them at low percents and hopefully hit them into prone or tripped.  Clare specializes in prone abuse to the point where they’ll either have to roll away quickly before she can hit with side special or down smash, or just risk getting up normally.  Down tilt and down aerial counter get-up attacks too well for them to risk using one.  And that up smash is a very useful combo finisher, putting the foe right into prone and letting Clare work her magic again.  When she uses her Yoki power, she can use increased speed to get in position for counter-attacks more quickly or focus on reading them and use increased power to make every mistake hurt more.

Zeroing in one the foes tendencies and impulses, and using their power against them is amazingly in-character for Clare.  This is highlighted in her neutral special, which is pretty much her signature ability in the series.  When foes successfully get away from her or try to camp, she can activate this and essentially approach untouched assuming she doesn’t dash.  And since there’s no indication when she’s using this, she can just fake using it and force the foe into a predictable weak attack or grab that she can counter.  But she can’t use this as well when she uses Yoki power, relying more on her speed or power in those cases.  Clare’s methods of KOing are what mostly differ depending on how she uses her Yoki power.  In her normal state she has to push them to the edge with her huge ass smash side special and then just go for a straight KO and attempt a gimp if needed.  She can push them to the edge even more effectively with awakened legs, and her increased speed and aerial prowess make her an extremely dangerous gimper.  She doesn’t need to push them to the edge with awakened arms, having the pure power to KO from anywhere.  She can even toss them right off the edge for a KO with a back throw if they’re damage is high enough.  And having both limbs awakened just mixes all these options together.

Clare’s awakened state is really her wild card: she loses some gimping ability and overall ground control, but she gains absolutely silly power and some frightening options.  Her new neutral special completely rules out dodging behind her as an option, and some of her other new moves allow her to turn any hit into a pseudo-combo.  One mistake from the foe can easily lead to a KO, especially when the forward smash now pitfalls them.  She can go and try to gimp too: her enormous power makes any hit against a recovering foe fatal.  But any mistake from Clare in this state can prove fatal too: she’s now a large and fast-falling target who can be easily comboed or gimped.  But her awakened state is arguably much better for free-for-alls because of her pure power and range.

As much as her characterization shines through in the set, I will admit that she never showed the ability to actually stretch her limbs in the series.  That ability is mostly unique to the Yoma monsters themselves and Helen, another character from the series.  Helen herself does appear in Clare’s final smash, as well as Miria, who I originally considered making this set for.  All in all I actually really love this set: really both her and Wakka are some of my personal favorites because I accomplished exactly what I set out to do with both of them.  There really aren’t any flaws I personally see with Clare, not even a filler input.  And then she just doesn’t even place.  There are many things I could blame that on: the fact that she was posted in the last day rush and right before the ponies to boot.  FA commented her almost immediately, just being incredibly vague and extremely negative.  He just. . . no no no.  Not going to rant.  And then Rool came out and very much liked the set, which is awesome to me since Rool usually hates my sets of this type.  But the bad part is that Rool likes it.  Which means Warlord is required to hate it.  And I know for a fact he didn’t read it before pushing Clare off with picks.  I think much of the leadership rushed in reading her AND in making that top 50.  Yeah, at only 48th it was to be expected that Clare would be pushed off since she didn’t have significant leader support.  And Smady was busy picking Gamzee, though that’s something I commend him for.  She at least had more support than Rena or Yuji and Shana.

Sweeney Todd: In a way, this IS a set for a random character in the vein of Stanley, since I decided to make this set on a whim when I saw how tacky Freaky Fred was.  But I actually do like The Demon Barber as a character, so that’s irrelevant.  Obviously this is an incredibly character-focused set because of limited potential, even more so than Hitagi.  Todd doesn’t KO foes: he MURDERS them in a meticulous manner.  He lures the foe into a false sense of security, he calms them, he sits them down in his chair. . . and slits their throat in a violent and over-the-top manner.  And that’s exactly what he does in the set.  He’s not a fighter in the strict sense of the word: going rushdown on the foe is generally his last resort, and he’s not that good at it.  However once he slits the foes throat or embeds blades in them to weaken them, his rushdown becomes more viable.  Though at that point the foe is already close to death, his purpose becomes to finish the job and dispose of them permanently.  Apart from his grabs and specials, Todd’s moveset mostly revolves around spacing the foe and either pushing them into the chair or pushing a weakened foe off-stage to be gimped.  I did end up actually editing the set a bit to add a larger focus on tasty prone abuse, and introducing a KO mechanic in which the foe eventually bleeds out instead of forcing Todd to have to gimp them every time.  Warlord’s audio review was very helpful in this regard.  Aside from some genericness in the aerials (almost always the weak point of my sets), there’s not really much else I can think to change with him.  I can’t say there’s anything in particular I wanted to accomplish here aside from showing up Freaky Fred and making a ‘serious’ barber set. . . so I guess I succeeded.

The Actual Ranking

21: Cammy

20: Stanley Yelnats

19: Sheena Fujibayashi

18: Batman

17: Spyro

—————————-

16: Lloyd

15: Rena

14: Excel

13: M.Bison

12: Psyduck

—————————-

11: Colette Brunel

10: Midna

9: Rita Mordio

—————————-

8: Yuji Sakai and Shana

7: Gambit

6: Miroku

—————————-

5: Hitagi Senjougahara

4: Sweeney Todd

—————————-

3: Wakka

2: Clare

1: Raven

Responses

  1. look at all the people caring

  2. Lovely hearing you talk about your long-lasting career, Silver. Especially mentions of myself in Wakka and Gambit [of course], but great to hear your interpretations of your ancient sets as well.

  3. I care about this self-ranking too.

    Also I’m sorry about being so harsh on Clare, I kind of rushed the set and doubt I really got a chance to appreciate it. I intend on rereading it and giving it a second look later, though I’m well aware it’s too late to change anything.


What do you think?

Categories

