Posted by: TWILT | February 4, 2012

TWILTHERO’s MYMer Interview #9: n88_2004

Nate always reminded me of Darth Vader...y'know, ignoring the part where he's a total douche and the whole dark side thing.

Hey y’all, welcome to return of the MYMer interviews once again!

Yeah, TWILT is back once more, but this time for reals. Even though I’m back, the chances of me making a moveset are practically slim to none. Main reason is that I’m busy as hell in real life (college is going to start soon for me…), but I’ve also lost…the “fire” in me that made me want to make movesets, y’know what I mean? That’s not to say I won’t ever make  a moveset ever again, but it’s just a matter of if and when. That said, I’m back for reals this time, and it’s good to be back with people I’ve known for so long and grown to be good friends with!

Anyway, our next interviewee is none other than n88_2004! While I can’t say I talk with him a lot, he’s a really cool guy once you get to know him, and is still one of the most consistent MYMers I’ve seen. Without further, here’s Nate!

What do you consider your best moveset and why?

An absolute favorite? Tricky. Spiritomb, Chain Chomp, Grievous, Vader, Aianto, and Dark Star are all right up there. I think I might have to go with Vader in the end. Out of all my sets, he’s probably the one who pays the most attention to characterization, and I’m really happy that I managed to pull off a good set for a character with such high expectations, and one that I personally love.

What are your favorite Make Your Move movesets not by yourself and why?

My all-time favorites? Man, that’s a long list. . . If I had to pick a few, I’d go with Von Kaiser, Hector, Joe Calzaghe, Kel’Thuzad, Drifblim, Dr. Strangelove, and Teferi. Yeah, I know, the list is really heavy on MYM6-7, but those were the sets that I read when I was still learning the ropes, and they were the ones that really struck my fancy, so it would be fair to say they had a pretty big impact on me. I probably wouldn’t like them as much if I compared them directly to some sets today, but I still think they’re great, if for a variety of different reasons. Teferi is the lone recent entry there; the set’s inventiveness really impressed me, and I subconsciously try to steal from it pretty often.

What do you look for in a moveset?

I don’t really look for anything in particular. I really like to see someone come up with something entirely unheard of or take advantage of some obscure mechanic no-one thought to play with before. But everyone likes that, don’t they? It’s a bit of a cop-out, I suppose, but I really do like to read (and write) a lot of different kinds of sets.

Where do you get inspiration for movesets?

Sometimes it’s random things that happen in real life (Torkoal was inspired by two kids fighting over a chair), sometimes I stumble across a character online and just run with it (Haunter, Spiritomb, Aianto), sometimes I’ll take something on for the challenge of it (Firebar, 88 Teeth), and other times I will just decide to make a set for a character I like and meticulously plan a set out over a few months (Kamek, Dormammu, Vader). Even when I make sets that focus on ideas rather than characters, the idea usually grows out of the character, not the other way around.

How often do you cut movesets?

Very, very frequently. I’ve dropped. . . somewhere in the ballpark of eighty movesets over my entire career. Most of those didn’t have much work done on them, but some certainly did – at one point in MYM9 I threw away four completed movesets because I didn’t like them. I get a lot of ideas, and it’s a pretty frequent occurence that I start a moveset and then lose interest entirely. Or only partially, in which case the moveset fragment lingers for a few months before it (usually) is thrown in the recycling bin.

How did you discover Make Your Move and why do you continue to create movesets for it?

I happened across Make Your Move back when I was active on SWF – there was a time when I posted in nearly every thread in the GBD on a daily basis. At some point or other I checked MYM out, and history was made. I’m still here because MYM is an addiction. It’s hard not to get sucked into the chat, and I really, really like writing movesets. I don’t know what I’m going to do with myself if I ever get tired of MYM.

What can you tell us about you in real life? Do you have any interesting quirks or trivia about yourself to tell us?

In real life, I am a hulking giant of a man with a 200 IQ who sleeps with three women a night, on average. In all seriousness, I’m not sure I have anything that interesting to tell. I tend to get stereotyped as the smart guy in my school, but I suspect this has more to do with being a sarcastic douchebag than any demonstrations of actual intelligence. Oh, maybe there’s something to mention – I am much nicer to you guys than I am to my actual friends, since internet sarcasm is really easy to misinterpret. Other than that, I don’t think I have too many surprises to offer.

What’s the inspiration for your username?

n8 = Nate. 2004=The year I started using the username. Second 8 = Typo. To put it simply, this username is not one of my greatest accomplishments in life.

Who do you consider your closest friend in MYM?

I dunno if anyone stands out as being exceptionally close, but there’s really no-one in MYM I dislike either. No, not even you, _______. I guess I talk to MW, Sundance, FA, and PC (when he was around) the most, and I was pretty close to GW and Wiz before they died. Really, you guys are great, and I probably would have died a while ago if I didn’t like the community so much.

Who is your favorite Pokemon?

I am one of few MYMers who can claim to have had very little experience with Pokemon prior to becoming a part of Make Your Move. MYM has shaped my experience with the franchise, and Spiritomb has wound up being my favorite, partially because he was a really fun character to make a set for and partially because I love me some Ghost-types, much as I hate to admit it and conform to stereotypes.

What is your favorite video game of all time?

Hoooo. I can’t really claim to have played that many games, but if I had to pick out a few favorites, I would probably go with Soulcalibur II, Brawl, Oracle of Ages, and Knights of the Old Republic. I guess Brawl would get the edge by just a bit, if only for the multiplayer component. Also, everyone in Make Your Move needs to play that last one. Not nearly enough of you have (CRS)

What would you consider your least favourite set?

I harbor an intense hatred for Kee-Mo-Shi, the third set I ever wrote. I simply made up a disturbing amount of the material. No, I didn’t have much to work with, but the set raped the character pretty hard, even taking into account the fact that it was a newcomer set. Its only redeeming quality was its playstyle section, which was also notable as it was my first attempt to leave out a playstyle summary. I was way ahead of the curve on this one.

Remember Keith from MYM9? What were your thoughts on that “moveset”?

Of course I remember Keith. I am intensely proud of authoring the only audio set in the history of MYM. Though they’re not easy to understand, there are some pretty good ideas buried in the set, a lot of them castoffs from an early draft of Dormammu. Some of Keith’s attacks also served as an inspiration for Dark Star, as it happens, so I think that quite a bit of good came out of the set. The weirdest part of the whole thing for me was the reaction to my voice. I was unaware I sounded so. . . whatever it is you people think I sound like.

Why did you quit being a leader in MYM10?

I quit because I thought, at the time, that I was going to be running into really heavy workloads at school and that I would be forced into abandoning MYM. As it worked out, my MYM11 was actuallly much more active than my MYMX was, and with much better movesets, but I didn’t know that at the time, and took the safer route of dropping out of leadership. I wanted to come back once MT dropped out, because at that point there was no fifth leader and I actually knew what kind of workload I was getting, but the leaders had already decided on the whole empty slot thing, and I didn’t quite have the time to compete with the likes of LL and FA for that spot.

Why did you lurk MYM for a long while before joining?

I lurked for a while because I was afraid I would suck at actually writing sets, and because I was too lazy to write them, though the idea still fascinated me. So instead of actually joining a contest, I just kinda hung out during MYM3-4 and read the occasional moveset. I even wrote up one of my one, though I never posted it. (I should go track that down. . . I probably have it in a notebook somewhere) For a while, I quit lurking entirely, but came back right at the end of MYM5, was temporarily scared off by Spadefox-oriented drama, then returned on the opening day of MYM6 with a one-hour moveset.
Why did you barely participate in MYM 7?

After HK, I really didn’t have a lot of enthusiasm for MYM. I wrote up Black Cat, but I felt so crappy about it that I didn’t even post it,and allowed it to rot for two contests. I was stuck in that same rut, starting sets and almost never getting anywhere past stats, right up until the end of MYM7, when I rushed out King Boo in a day and realized that, holy ****, this could actually be fun, if I approached it in the right way. Just finishing one set was enough to get me back on my feet and writing sets.

Any movesets for the future?

Oh, certainly. I’m feeling kind of a supervillain mood at the moment. Blackheart, Loki, Ultron, Thanos, Red Skull, and my Spidey villains that I couldn’t quite get together in time for my birthday are all feeling like strong possibilities. But of course, most of my sets are spontaneous, so it’s possible that I’ll have twelve sets this contest and not make a single one of the characters I just listed.

Sundance Question: What is the first word that comes to your head when asked to find rhymes for the following words?
A. Mother Trucker B. Trigger C. Maggot

A. Willow
B. Regis Philbin
C. Sasquatch

Responses

  1. “but there’s really no-one in MYM I dislike either. No, not even you, _______”

    YOU LIE

  2. Providing this isn’t offensive, I think Nate is the most American person in all of MYM (pop culture wise I guess since I don’t know you in real life) because he makes movesets for Nintendo and American franchises like Marvel and Star Wars…I’ve ALWAYS wanted to say that!

    • Not offended at all! We were actually just having a discussion in xat yesterday about how I have roughly zero experience with anime and whatnot. I had a lot of friends who were into FMA and such things, but I stubbornly refused to watch/read it, and stuck with my Star Wars and my Marvel, probably because of a small hipster streak. Looking back, that probably makes me some kind of stereotype inversion. . . (CRS)

  3. But…Nintendo’s Japanese…

    • Westernized my boy, Westernized! Most of the Pokemon and Mario people have their names changed in America.

  4. So I leave and Twilt comes back? Way to start rumors, you CanAsian faggot. Naw but seriously, good to see you come back, what with so many people apparently leaving. Too bad I couldn’t really spend any time with you.

    • Yeah, that’s such a shame PC. Really wish I got to know you better. I wish you good luck on whatever you’re doing and hope for a swift return! =)

  5. Thanks, man. Hope you enjoy this community to its fullest, it’s a good one.


What do you think?

Categories

