Posted by: TWILT | February 15, 2012

TWILTHERO’s MYMer Interview #11: SirKibble

The coolest guy in the universe.

Welcome to this week’s MYMer interview! This is your host, TWILTHERO, and he’s gonna ask you questions until you reveal your most inner and darkest secrets! Woot!…Ahem.

Anyway, this week, we got the man himself, SirKibble. He’s generally a very cool person to be around. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone hate him. He had to do something for 2 years, but now he’s back, better than ever! Now without further ado…

What do you consider your best moveset and why?

When it comes right down to it, it’s really hard to choose between Mr. Shine & Mr. Bright from MYM4, and Sayaka Miki from last contest. I’m aware that those are two of my best performing movesets of all time, but that’s not really why I love them so much. I tend to feel like with most movesets I make, between the point where I come up with the initial concept and the point when I post it, a lot get sacrificed and changed for the sake of practicality, balance, or even just to fill up the rest of the inputs. Those two are easily the two movesets I had to do that the least with. They both ended up almost exactly how I originally hoped and imagined the movesets would be. Honorable mentions would have to go to Adeleine from MYM6 and Proto Man from MYM4.

What are your favorite Make Your Move movesets not by yourself and why?

Gosh, it’s hard to say. I’m still a sucker for those old MYM4 classics like Mendez’s Mach Rider and Rool’s Kawasaki. In fact, I’d say all my “favorite” movesets are still ones from before I left. There was a charm to our movesets back then that’s harder to come by now. A few others I have really fond memories of would include Rool’s Miracle Matter, HR’s Bass and Treble, Agi’s The Kid, Smady’s Raiden… Man, I’m terrible at this whole pick-a-favorite thing…

What do you look for in a moveset?

The movesets that seem to leave the biggest impact on me are the ones that immerse me in the character and the character’s universe. It’s one thing to rattle off a list of theoretical Smash Bros. moves for a character, but it’s another entirely to tell the character’s story through their moveset. Those are the kind of movesets I find really fun to read. Even if the playstyle is so-so or the moves themselves are a bit boring, a moveset like that always grabs my attention and leaves a strong impression.

Where do you get inspiration for movesets?

If I like a character, I pretty much immediately start thinking of moveset ideas for them. So basically, whatever I’m playing, watching, etc. is what gives me inspiration. A lot of the time, it starts with one or two moves. I’ll see a character in an anime do something, for example, that I think would make a cool Up Special, and it all goes from there. I don’t walk into most of my movesets with more than maybe two or three moves in mind.

How often do you cut movesets?

I used to cut movesets next to never. Since coming back, though, I’ve cut several. Heck, look at all the plans I posted at the end of MYMX for MYM11. I only made one of those. Usually it happens just because I don’t make the moveset fast enough, and I get inspiration for a new moveset. The “cut” movesets are really just getting postponed until I play the game they’re from again or whatever to spark my motivation to pick them up, though! So who knows when a cut moveset of mine might emerge from the depths of indefinite postponement!

How did you discover Make Your Move and why do you continue to create movesets for it?

Back in the day, MYM was pretty tightly tied to the SSB4 discussion thread. I frequented the SSB4 thread, and stumbled upon MYM pretty quick after joining SWF. I looked at it as a way to prove that a character was actually reasonable to think of for the next Smash game, so my first entry was for Bomberman (who, to this day, I swear I am the sole supporter of). Those days were really lax, and the contest was just plain fun. As far as why I’m still around making movesets, it’s just because you guys are all so awesome! Seriously, that’s the top reason. That aside, though, I’ve always enjoyed just about any creative pursuit I can get my hands on, so MYM is a super-cool outlet for those creative juices.

What can you tell us about you in real life? Do you have any interesting quirks or trivia about yourself to tell us?

I like to think I’m a pretty normal guy. I’m pretty quiet by most people’s standards, though I think that’s pretty typical of us internet-goers. Like I mentioned, I have a tendency to follow a lot of creative pursuits, so aside from writing movesets, I work on a fair bit of music, and I’ve recently started trying to get a handle on drawing. Other than that, I think I do the same things the average college student does–go to class, come home, eat junk, sit on the computer, put off homework, sleep, repeat. Oh, and I’m a Mormon, but everybody already knows that.

What’s the inspiration for your username?

Well, obviously, it’s the Kirby enemy Sir Kibble, who gives the Cutter ability when swallowed. When I joined SWF, I had been looking for another forum I’d visited years before–I think it was IGN hosted–where my username was MetaMasamune (Taken from Meta Knight plus the Masamune sword from Chrono Trigger). When I joined SWF, I opted to ditch the Chrono Trigger part of the name since Kirby was closely tied to Smash and CT wasn’t. Naturally, every username even remotely connected to Meta Knight was already taken, so I settled on the next most knightly thing that came to mind.

Oh, and also dawgfood.

Who do you consider your closest friend in MYM?

I have a special place in my heart for fellow MYM2 vets like Silver and MT, plus leadership and ex-leadership figures like Warlord and Rool. Since coming back, I’ve gotten close to a few other MYMers like FA and Majora, too, but most of the people I feel closest to are old-timers who I was good friends with years ago.

Who is your favorite Pokemon?

Lanturn. Easy. I always just found its type combination awesome. Honorable mentions go to Sandslash and Flygon, who are my favorites from their respective generations. Oh, and Pichu. Because he’s freaking Pichu.

What is your favorite video game of all time?

Chrono Trigger. No questions asked. Yes, I know that’s not a Kirby game. Astonishment ensues.

What would you consider your least favourite set of yours?

Eesh… Probably Mr. Dooter, honestly. The set was so half-hearted and not nearly as cool after writing as I’d envisioned him. He’s like the opposite of those favorite sets I listed at the beginning. There might be older ones I like less, but I honestly can’t remember any of my other sets leaving as bad a taste in my mouth as that one. But apparently people liked him, so I guess I can look on the bright side for that.

How does it feel to return to MYM after a 2 year leave?

I expected things to be a lot different, but transitioning back into the community was mega easy. Getting up to par on moveset quality was a much more daunting task. It really made me learn to empathize with newcomers. Most of all, I was happy to see so many familiar faces, since a lot of people said before I left that they might not be around when I got back. Pretty much everyone’s still here, even if they just stick their heads in the chat every so often.

How WAS your 2 year missionary by the way? You had a good time?

I did; I had a great time. I had a lot of neat experiences and learned a lot of important life lessons and skills. Naturally, I missed MYM and my family and friends, but if I had the chance to go back and do it again, I would in a heartbeat.

How do you feel about being the “nice guy” of MYM for such a long time?

I love it. I think it’s important and rewarding not to have to rely on belittling or insulting others to feel good about yourself. I actually have a tendency to make a lot of snide, sarcastic remarks in real life, so having a reputation as the nice guy in MYM helps me keep that in check. It’s a good opportunity, being over the internet and everything, to think before I speak and make sure I don’t say anything I’d regret. So I intend to keep it up!

What is up with your obsession with Kirby?

The series has always been a favorite of mine, because of its simplicity and the variety within that simplicity. Plus I’ve always been a sucker for the concept of having lots of different powers you can take from your enemies–which I guess is why Mega Man is another favorite franchise of mine. When it came to MYM, the innocence of Kirby just kind of fit with my “nice guy” persona, and I started taking my liking of Kirby to the next level just for kicks. I guess you could say that if it’s really become an obsession, I have MYM to blame/thank for it. I just took the title I was branded with and ran with it, and that’s how it got where it is today.

Any plans for future sets? 

I have about ten or twelve future plans at the moment, most of which I’ve done at least a little bit of work on. I’ve got a couple remastered classics I’m planning on putting out, and a bunch of new sets as well. I’ve mentioned a few of my plans to various people and in the thread, but as for the rest…I guess you’ll just have to wait and see!

Sundance Question: POST A PICTURE OF YOURSELF HOLDING A PICKLE.

C://My Documents/My Pictures/Pictures of Me/Pictures of Me With Pickles/Pictures of Me With One Pickle/Pictures of Me Holding One Pickle/4314558.jpg

Click the image to open in full size.

THERE YA GO, SUNDANCE!

Responses

  1. As a bit of a random note, I forgot to put Phatcat as a choice. I edited the poll to include him, but it’s not making him available as an option for me. I might have to wait like an hour or something, but eh. I might just pick Phatcat as my interviewee next week since he has to leave on the 24th, but we’ll see.

    EDIT: NOW he’s appearing as a choice lol.

  2. Thanks for the interview, Twilty. (HUG)

  3. I think I’d best compare Kibble to Red Redding from Shawshank Redemption. He was in for a while, but when he came back… well, he wasn’t any Brooks Hatlen.

  4. Yep, Brooks would be Mendez.

  5. Yeah, I’ll be here until the 24th, for sure. Course, you could always just do the interview and post it sometime later if there’s demand for someone else next week. It’s not a huge deal, but since I’m not planning on posting any sets before I leave, it’d be one last thing to do here before I left. Although I was kinda interested in that MYMini 0; I had been thinking about remaking Sniper before the whole “leaving until 2073” thing came up. Oh, and yes MW, you should remake Dimentio for that, you ass.

  6. So much for dying on Feb 10th.

    And why the hell are you not in xats and such until you leave? My god you’re a nigger.

  7. Heh? Whoever said I was leaving on the 10th? Well whoever it was, they must have the IQ of the average cantaloupe. I don’t leave forever till the 24th, but, as I said in the article, I hate long goodbyes and have to pack/wrap things up here in Georgia, so I left the Xat early. As you can see, I still comment on these things, though. I’m pretty much DM.

  8. You have become what you hated most.

  9. I am not yet a Nutty Bar.

  10. Even if you are going to theoretically leave for 6 months, when you will be gone for 3 at most, that’s hardly “leaving forever”. We won’t have budged a goddamn inch by the time you get back.

    There’s no dramatic goodbyes to be had.

  11. To give you an idea of just how much I expect you to come back in the relatively near future, I have in fact still been making goddamn tokens.

  12. *has 0 votes for being next for an interview*

    Eh, I’m not surprised. I’m kind of dull, anyway. :p

  13. Hey, I like ya, LoL.

    And Warlord, I’ll be in Texas for like a month before I even go to TN, so you gotta add that on. And as you should know, Texas has never even heard of this new-fangled “technology” hogwash. And I ain’t taking my computer, you know? Even once I get a job in TN, I’m gonna be saving up for a car and house and shit; won’t be any excess funds for a comp. It’s gonna be a while.

    Also use your damn account.

  14. Least anonymous anon ever

  15. It’s not a matter of hiding identity, it’s a matter of being too lazy to log on.

  16. Oh come on, it’s like one click. You can even make it so it never logs you out.


What do you think?

Categories

