Posted by: TWILT | January 6, 2014

TWILT’s Games of the Year of 2013

Is it that time of year again where we all count down our favorite games of the year? Why yes it is! These games are always extremely exceptional in quality, and have a very lasting appeal to me. These games will surely be remembered fondly for years to come and I strongly recommend you to try them out if you haven’t had the chance yet.

Let’s get started!

10.

AnimalCrossinGOTY

  • Developer: Nintendo
  • Platform: Nintendo 3DS
  • Price: $39.99
  • Release Date: June 9, 2013 (Worldwide)

Ah Animal Crossing. Such a weird yet enjoyable game. This is actually my first Animal Crossing game, and to be honest, I wasn’t really expecting to like the game as much as I did, but damn, I spent a much longer time in this game that I thought. You can’t really “beat” the game so to speak. It’s a game about how you’re the mayor of your little town, and from that point on, you can build your town the way you like it. It’s actually a pretty relaxing game, and it’s really nice to have a game where there isn’t really a forced objective.

There are lots to do in the game, and it’s actually all really addictive. Whether it be making your town a better place, with stuff like Ordinances and decorating it, improving and making your house looker nicer, or just plain seeing your villagers and what they’re up too, I was always playing the game with a smile on my face. The game is filled with content and there’s actually incentive to actually always come back to the game! Since there’s stuff like holidays for Halloween or Christmas in the game, and plenty of fun events, I was making sure to at the very least check on my town every time or so, even if it’s only for a few minutes. Such a rarity in games these days.

That and…I was probably way too invested in the game more that I should have (and I mean that in a good way!) Whether it be a delight to see some of my favorite villagers are still hanging around, to having one of them leave my town and giving this empty feeling inside of me, it always struck a sort of emotion to me while I was playing Animal Crossing: New Leaf.

Other that that, there’s not too much to say! Animal Crossing’s a very relaxing game, that doesn’t really stress you out with endgoals and achievements. It’s not a game for everyone, but it’s always super nice to see a game that I just plain had fun with and that earns it’s spot on my game of the year list. Now, I should really check up on my town sometime after I abandoned them for Pokemon…

9.

ZeldaGoty

  • Developer: Nintendo
  • Platform: Nintendo 3DS
  • Price: $39.99
  • Release Date: November 22, 2013 (Worldwide)

Zelda, Zelda, Zelda. For whatever reason, Zelda always manages to make my list of favorite games of the year in some form (except the year that Phantom Hourglass came out…we don’t speak of that game…). I’ll be honest; I was never that big of a fan of a Link to the Past. Don’t get me wrong; I still think it’s a good game, but it never really captured me like so many other fans for some reason. A Link Between Worlds though? Easily one of my favorite games of the year.

What I really like about this game is that unlike the previous game in the series, Skyward Sword, is that the game does not hold your hand whatsoever. No annoying helper that pops up every 5 seconds to explain stuff you already know and you actually get the feeling of figuring stuff out for yourself! The game is a little on the easy side, but it makes up for it with being just an absolute joy to play through without constant tutorials being shoved down your throat.

There’s a lot of freedom in this game, so much so that you can tackle dungeons in almost any order you want. All you need to do is “rent” the item required for tackling the dungeon, and you’re good to go! Unfortunately, this does mean the actual dungeons are bit shorter than they should be I feel, but overall, it still feels really nice to go in any direction you want without being “wrong” about it.

The new gameplay mechanics work really well. I had my skepticism about Link turning into a drawing, but the mechanic works really well and is very clever in puzzle solving. It still always feels great when you’re solving a puzzle (even if the game’s a little bit on the easy side.) The boss battles are really great too. While in A Link to the Past, none of them really struck out as memorable to me, A Link Between World’s bosses were always were really fun and clever.

Music is of course great. A lot of classic Zelda: A Link to the Past music is remixed and sounds really awesome. The Dark World theme (or the Lorule World as the game calls it) really gives me a nostalgia trip, the Hyrule Field theme is as adventurous as ever, and the Hyrule Castle theme is as epic as ever. That’s not say some of the original songs like the Yuga Battle, the Final Battle theme, and the Boss theme aren’t great.

Overall, A Link Between Worlds is a damn great game and I’m glad I got the honor of playing it as a big Zelda fan. After Skyward Sword’s…problems, I was a little skeptical about the future for the franchise, but after playing this game, it’s good to know the franchise is in good hands still.

8.

phoenixwrightgoty

  • Developer: Capcom
  • Platform: Nintendo 3DS
  • Price: $29.99
  • Release Dates: October 24, 2013 (Worldwide)

Take that!

Just when I thought the series would never come over here after Ace Attorney Investigations 2 didn’t (and seriously Capcom, PLEASE bring it over here…), they surprise me again with Ace Attorney: Dual Destinies. Yeah, it really sucks that this game is digital only for Nintendo 3DS, considering Nintendo’s…questionable digital system, but hey, I still bought the game, and you know what? I still really loved it.

Ace Attorney: Dual Destinies is easily one of the strongest entries in the series thus far. One of the best transitions from sprites to 3D models, Ace Attorney looks beautiful and animates really well. The game still has the goofy, yet lovable charm the Ace Attorney games always had, while still looking better than ever.

Like any good Ace Attorney game, the game is still very well written, no matter how crazy the situation may sound. It’s one of those games that really make you think about what’s going on, and it rewards you for doing so. Being a lawyer has never felt more awesome. The characters are great too. Athena Cykes is totally awesome and has a very interesting backstory that I won’t spoil too much. Simon Blackquill is also one of the most badass characters Capcom has ever created, being one of my favorite prosecutors (with only Edgeworth being just a little better). Returning characters like Phoenix Wright are better than ever and even someone like Apollo Justice ends up doing some badass stuff.

The music is really well done, and is absolutely great. The Pressing On~Pursuit gives you an absolute rush when you’re finding out the truth, Athena Cykes ~ Courtroom Revolutionnaire shows how awesome Athena really is, and Thought Route ~ Resonance of the Synapses kept me thinking and thinking until I found the truth. And of course, the classic Objection! shout is still there.

Overall, Ace Attorney: Dual Destinies is a must play for Ace Attorney fans and I’m glad I didn’t skip this. I had a fantastic time analyzing all the evidence I had to reach out to the truth and reading all the amazing dialogue. Hopefully, this isn’t the last Ace Attorney game we get.

7.

Dragonscrowngoty

  • Developer: Vanillaware
  • Platform: Playstation 3, Vita
  • Price: $49.99
  • Release Dates:
    • Japan: July 25, 2013
    • North America: August 6, 2013
    • Europe: October 11, 2013

Alright, so, let me guess this out of the way. I’ve honestly never been that big of a fan of Vanillaware games. I couldn’t really get into Odin Sphere, and Muramasa, while fun, wasn’t my cup of tea either surprisingly. Combine that with Dragon’s Crown’s rather “controversial” artstyle (Amazon, Sorceress and Fighter were definitely…interesting to say the least…), and I wasn’t all that hot about Dragon’s Crown. I finally decided to get the game when a couple of friends of mine seemed to have a lot of fun with the jolly co-op mode, and you know what? I’m really glad I did.

Dragon’s Crown is a super fun Action RPG beat em up game that’s super addictive that has a surprising lot of depth (coming off Muramasa, I’m impressed). The game looks fantastic as the hand drawn dungeons and environments look really nice. The dungeons themselves are really fun to explore and have their own unique bosses, whether it be a giant deadly dragon or even a killer rabbit, it was all pretty fun to fight, which are also spectacle to see. If there’s one thing I always liked about Vanillaware games, it’s that they always look damn great, and it was nice to see that Dragon’s Crown was no exception.

There are six different unique characters to choose from, each with their own stats, moves, and abilities and they’re all pretty fun. Even characters that have similar attributes like the Wizard and Sorceress have enough to differentiate themselves from each other. I mostly used Wizard through my main playthrough, though personally I think Elf might be the most fun character for me. That said, I do wish there was more of a character that “fits me.” If there’s ever DLC/a sequel with my type of character classes, I’m there day one.

The game really nails the Medieval theme down to a T I feel. Whether it be the fantastic use of the visuals, the type of characters shown and even the well done music, it made me feel like I was going on an epic adventure with a group of travelers to save the place from deadly dragons and beasts. Once again, I was never ever really into Vanillaware games THAT much, but Dragon’s Crown feels really nice and smooth, and I was totally into it so to speak. Overall, if you own a Vita or a PS3, you owe to yourself to give Dragon’s Crown a chance, because despite all the criticism I have to give to Vanillaware games, Dragon’s Crown is a fantastic game that I’m glad I didn’t pass on.

6.

wonderful101goty

  • Developer: Platinum Games
  • Platform: Nintendo Wii U
  • Price: $59.99 (Amazon price)
  • Release Date:
    • Japan: August 24, 2013
    • North America: September 15, 2013
    • Europe: August 23, 2013

Now here is a game that really isn’t for everyone. I mean, really it’s not; it’s actually a pretty flawed game. The game has a pretty big learning curve so much so that the game actually took a while for it to click with me, it has rather unfriendly controls to begin with, the camera is pretty bad at times (and it’s easy to lose track of your characters at times), and what’s worse, the game doesn’t really tell you HOW to play at all (there’s a big difference between explaining stuff and handholding, video game developers). Overall, the game is very hard to get into, and it’s pretty easy to see why this game isn’t for everyone.

Such a shame though, because everything else is gold and some people are missing out on an otherwise excellent game. Once the game finally “clicked” with me, I was having a badass time. While the battle system takes a while to get used to, once you do, it feels super satisfying to use and it has that certain Platinum Games magic to it so to speak. I was really impressed on how many options there are in terms of combat and while once again it takes a while to get used to, “drawing” what weapon/attack I want to do almost becomes second nature. It never really takes itself too seriously, and the game had so much charm and colour, it made it all the more easier to have a blast.

And man…there sure it a lot of content and variety in this game. Every mission it always felt like there was something new to do and a new challenge to finish. I actually found myself replaying older missions just to experience the whole thrill again. There’s also tons of secrets and stuff to collect in this game, from enemy files, figurines of your favorite Wonder, Platinum coins, and even recruiting a certain hero, the game made me keep coming back for more and more.

The game actually made me feel like a kid again, and I was watching a badass episode of the Power Rangers. I was really “into” the game persay, and the game itself made me feel like I was part of the action. The characters themselves helped with this, each with their own unique personality and style. From Wonder Blue, the smartass sword user we all love (who surprisingly has quite a bit of depth to him), Wonder Yellow the tough hammer using guy with a Russian accent that I’ve really grown to like and even someone who may seem like a generic main leader guy like Wonder Red has his perks.

Once again, The Wonderful 101 isn’t a game for everyone; not at all. However, once you give the game a chance and it finally clicks with you, it stays clicked and you’ll be playing the game with a certain rush in you. Not quite my favorite Platinum game of choice, but damn it does come close and it certainly was wonderful to play through. But hey, speaking of Platinum Games, it’s not the only one on this list…

5.

SMTGoty

  • Developer: Atlus
  • Platform: Nintendo 3DS
  • Price: $49.99
  • Release Dates:
    • Japan: May 23, 2013
    • North America: July 16, 2013
    • Europe: 2014?

Mainline Shin Megami Tensei is back and better than ever. One of the best JRPGs released this year, Shin Megami Tensei IV offered a challenging and fun JRPG battle system that’s rewarding and satisfying with the Press Turn system with an interesting storyline with thought provoking decisions, which all help influence the ending you get. Like a mainline SMT game, it’s brutally difficult, though thankfully it’s the most approachable mainline SMT game yet.

The setting almost immediately drew me in the opening hours. The seemingly medieval atmosphere soon turned into a futuristic modern timeline really made me curious about what exactly happened in this world. I’m a huge sucker for those kinds of things and helped really make me love the game even more. Despite the few problems I had with the world map, Tokyo was still a sight to explore and see. I would absolutely love to see more games that take place in modern places with an interesting theme (shoutouts to The World Ends With You by the way).

The decisions you make in the game really made think about my actions in the game. Is it really okay to kill this one person? Would you exclude someone for being different or let them join in your activities? While the characters themselves aren’t as strong as say something from Persona, they’re still enjoyable and interesting in their own way (yes, I am only saying that because Isabeau is the best). Even if you don’t enjoy the characters that much, Shin Megami Tensei IV more than makes up with it with a very captivating atmosphere.

As for the gameplay itself, it’s the most steam lined main SMT game yet, and they’re all changes for the better. Demon Fusion is easier and better than ever, letting you know what exactly what kind of demon you want to get. Apps make the game feel like there were a lot of options to customization and the Demon Whisper mechanic, where you can pass down demonic skills to your main character, is something I absolutely love, since it makes customizing your main character easier than ever. The battle system is still really fun and Press Turn is something I wish was in the mainline Persona series. Battles can be really easy if you’re prepared or almost impossible to beat if you aren’t ready. There’s also numerous things to do, including over 100 sidequests, most of which are actually pretty unique and offer different demons to fight.

I can’t not talk about the music, since it’s also one of my favorites this year! The music really helps set the atmosphere with the game, and I was always playing the game with my headphones on. Some of my favorite tracks include the Tokyo Overworld, Pluto Castle,  and Infernal Kasumigaseki and I can’t forget about the awesome battle themes including Isabeau, the Tokyo Battle Theme, the Archangel Battle theme, and the main Boss Theme. Still wondering when Atlus is gonna release the official OST though…I wanna listen to the music in HQ damnit!

Overall, Shin Megami Tensei IV is a fantastic JRPG, has a lot of things I love in JRPGs and I’m really glad I got the chance to play it, even with the steep $49.99 price tag. While I still eagerly await the next installment of the Persona franchise, I would not mind at all if Atlus continued the mainline Shin Megami Tensei series one day.

4.

MetalGearRIsingGoTy

  • Developer: Platinum Games
  • Platform: Playstation 3, Xbox 360, PC
  • Price: $29.99 (Amazon price)
  • Release Date: February 19, 2013 (Worldwide)

Rules of nature!

Ahem, anyway, what needs to be said about Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance? To be honest, I’ve never really been much of a Metal Gear fan. Snake Eater was pretty cool, but what really got me into the series is of course Rising. In general, it’s just a pretty well done awesome game! One of Platinum Game’s best games easily in my opinion (I even loved it more than Bayonetta, though I should really try Vanquish sometime…), I really loved everything about Metal Gear Rising.

Gameplay? Fantastic; by far the best action game I’ve played this year (and yes, I have played the incredibly mediocre DmC game that came earlier in the year). The slice and dice combat is super satisfying and fast paced, and will keep you coming back for more. While still somewhat limited, being able to cut almost anything feels so great, and make you feel like a real badass. Pulling a Zandatsu feels so damn good (BULLSEYE!) And don’t get me started on those awesome boss fights, which I’d argue are some of the best in action game history. The Samuel samurai showdown in particular just gets me hype every time I replay the game. And while the game is probably not the most difficult action game I’ve played, on the higher difficulties, it certainly kept me on my toes and one mistake meant you’ll take a lot of damage.

Music’s just as awesome of course. Arguably one of the best OSTs this year, everything fits with the dynamic soundtrack, and while some may argue it’s a little too cheesy, I think it’s a little too awesome. Some of the standout tracks for me are Hot Wind Blowing, The Only Thing I Know For Real and of course, It Has To Be This Way. The soundtrack plays such an important part of the game for me, I’d be almost tempted to kick the game off my list if it didn’t have such a godlike soundtrack. I mean, well the game would still be awesome, but just slightly less so!

While the story isn’t something I’d say is worthy of an Oscar or anything, there are plenty of moments in it that’ll definitely give you a big smile on your face (Go ninja go ninja go!) The characters themselves are pretty interesting, especially the final boss (Nanomachines, son). While the game is a bit on the short side, it more than makes up for it with being highly replayable and just being absolutely a blast to play! Overall, if you haven’t played Revengeance and you love action games, you’re seriously missing out and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to see what’s in store for a potential sequel with the Platinum Games magic. This image basically sums up how I felt when playing Metal Gear Rising.

3.

Mario3dgoty

  • Developer: Nintendo
  • Platform: Nintendo Wii U
  • Price: $59.99
  • Release Dates:
    • Japan: November 21, 2013
    • North America: November 22, 2013
    • Europe: November 29, 2013

Now here is a game that makes me really glad I picked up a Wii U on Christmas (along with The Wonderful 101 of course). As much criticism as Nintendo gets and deserves for messing up their Wii U release, you have to admit they still managed to make some damn fine games for it, and one of them just happens to be this game! I love me some 3D Mario and 3D World certainly got a lot of love from me.

The entire time I was playing 3D World, I always had a silly, but happy smile on my face, mostly because I was just having a damn great time with the game! The platforming is tighter than ever, the levels are unique and have a lot of feeling to them, some levels can actually be challenging if you’re one of those people who like collecting everything, and well, it was just a blast to play! Every level felt like I was doing something new and fun, whether it be trying out the new cat suit power up (which is actually really fun!), riding down waterfalls and rivers with a giant dinosaur (no Yoshi though ;_;), racing against the clock to reach the goal, solving a clever puzzle while using the new Cherry power up and making sure the Mario clones don’t fall, sliding down ice skates, playing through familiar levels, and more! Because goddamn, this game has a lot of content to it, and all of it is super fun.

This game also looks fantastic visual wise. It feels super nice to see a game that’s full of color and full of life. While the Galaxy games on Wii were certainly no slouch visual wise, there’s something about seeing 3D World in glorious high definition that makes it an absolute treat to see. Even looking at the game on the Wii U pad, I was hooked to the screen. 3D World is the game that just keeps on giving, and it always pulled me back in for more, mostly because there’s a bunch of collectibles and extra levels to get. And of course, it’s always super fun to finally play 3D Mario with friends (even if the lives system could use some work) and just having a plain good old time!

The music of course is fantastic. Classic Mario songs are remixed, and sound better than ever, and I really feel it helped add to my experience overall. It helped make the game to an overall fantastically fun playthrough and I couldn’t imagine the game without it. OverworldAthletic Theme 1Snow Theme, Athletic Theme 2Beep Block Skyway, and many more were just so nice to listen to, the game also has one of my favorites OSTs of the year as well.

Super Mario 3D World is a fantastic game, and while you may want to look into other games before getting a Wii U, I’m super happy that I finally got one for this game. While I’m hoping to see something even bigger than 3D World next time, as long as the game is super fun and fantastic like this one, I wouldn’t mind more of the same.

2.

PokemonGOTY

  • Developer: Game Freak
  • Platform: Nintendo 3DS
  • Price: $39.99
  • Release Date: October 12, 2013 (Worldwide)

If you read my Pokemon XY review, you would know how I feel about this game. Pokemon is back, better than ever, and this time on a mainline game, in 3D! Pokemon is the game that keeps you coming back for more and more, even after you beat the Champion (I have 450+ hours in this game!) While admittedly, the postgame is a bit weak, that doesn’t stop Pokemon XY from being a damn awesome game.

Same old same old? On the surface level yes. You catch Pokemon, you collect 8 badges, you stop evil criminal organization and you become Champion. That is NOT a bad thing however, and there are plenty of advancements in the series. Tons of cool features like Pokemon Amie which strengthens your bond with your Pokemon, Super Training which makes EV training easier and more convenient than ever, the surprisingly great online options, and little things like riding on roller skates! It’s also easier than ever to raise the perfect Pokemon with perfect IVs and such, and half my time on Pokemon XY is spent training and raising my Pokemon alone! It’s an incredibly satisfying feeling when you raise your powerful Pokemon.

There’s something really cool about seeing your favorite Pokemon in 3D. It’s a really nostalgic feeling to me and helped made me feel like my Pokemon were my friends and partners rather than a sprite without emotion. There’s also tons of Pokemon to catch, having the biggest variety of Pokemon yet in a game. I never felt like I was forced to use any kind of Pokemon, and I just used what Pokemon I really liked (shoutouts to Goodra, Sylveon and Greninja by the way!).

Music is great of course, and I’d argue it’s the best Pokemon soundtrack yet. From the Gym Battle, the Champion Battle, the Legendary Pokemon theme, and even stuff like Vaniville Town, the Route 18 theme, and the Anistar City theme…all these songs were memorable to me. Pokemon music has never been better than ever.

Overall though, what I really like about XY is that the whole game felt like a genuine journey, and considering I’m still playing the game AFTER I became the Champion, that journey isn’t over yet! Pokemon XY is Pokemon at it’s finest, and while it does have it’s fair share of problems, they’re mostly minor and I still stand by Pokemon XY are the best Pokemon games yet. If we ever get that Pokemon Z that fixes XY’s problems, I can see that being even better. Pokemon XY is my most played game of 2013, and damn did I always have a smile playing it 90% of the time (the 10% being whenever I had to battle against Mega Kangaskhan…)

1.

FireEmblemGoty

  • Developer: Intelligent Systems
  • Platform: Nintendo 3DS
  • Price: $39.99
  • Release Dates:
    • Japan: April 19, 2012
    • North America: February 4, 2013
    • Europe: April 19, 2013

Man, freaking Fire Emblem. It was really tough for me to decide between this and Pokemon as my overall game of the year. While I technically have more hours into Pokemon Y (over 450+ hours), ultimately Fire Emblem Awakening gave me a strong longer lasting impression to me.

Fire Emblem Awakening is simply phenomenal. While it is a good deal easier than previous Fire Emblems, Awakening still manages to have me resetting every time an ally of mine falls in combat. Usually if there’s one character I don’t care about, I usually go, “Eh, guess I can move on without him/her…”, but here, NO ONE gets left behind. I felt so emotionally invested in the characters, I considered them more than just mere allies. The strategy is still there of course; if you make the slightest mistake, you will pay for it. Fire Emblem kept me thinking and on my toes when I played it.

It helps that this game has an great cast of characters to choose from. From the determined leader Chrom, to the badass Lon’qu, to the sugar loving Gaius, to the sick and twisted Tharja, to best waifu wyvern riding Cherche, Fire Emblem Awakening truly made me care about the cast of characters like a good game. There’s tons of supports and interactions between the characters in this game; hell, I have over 6+ playthroughs trying to get most of them!

There’s also a lot of freedom in the game. If you want to do a no grind playthrough, that’s cool. You want to use your avatar as a wyvern rider? If you’re willing to put the time in the game, sure! Try and use every character in the game? Go nuts. There isn’t a character that’s a “bad” character, and you can use pretty much anyone you want. I love this type of freedom and while it may take away from the overall difficulty, I prefer picking what you want than overly challenging myself.

And did I mention the music? Oh man, this game has one of my favorite overall OSTs of 2013 as well. I love the dynamic soundtrack the game has and it’s an absolute blast to hear. Conquest (Ablaze), Divine Decree (Ablaze), Id~Purpose, Id~Hope, and of course, Don’t Speak Her Name! Fire Emblem always had a consistent track record when it comes to music, and Awakening is no exception and arguably the best yet.

Overall, considering I have 300+ hours in the game AND I bought each and every single piece of DLC, Fire Emblem Awakening is my game of the year. I was a bit nervous to hear that apparently Awakening might have been the last game in the series if it sold poorly, but thankfully it’s the best selling Fire Emblem yet. The future is in good hands, and in Lucina’s words, hope will never die!

Honorable Mentions:

x. Project M: While not exactly a “new” game persay (it’s a mod of a 2008 game), Project M shows that with a group of passionate people who love their game, they can make a game even better than Sakurai can. Everyone character feels viable, the gameplay is faster and better, Roy and Mewtwo return from Melee, the new additions are still full of fanservice, and Turbo turns in the game into Marvel! I wish I could invest more time on this game, but regardless, the game’s a total blast, and it’s certainly the best fanmade Smash thing that realizes the most important things about Smash Bros.

x. Tales of Xillia: I’ve never been that big of a fan of the Tales series (I really did not like Graces…), but Xillia is actually pretty fun. Nice music, interesting characters (Alvin’s pretty cool), a very fun action battle system and a story that isn’t totally cringe-worthy, Tales of Xillia is a fun game I’m glad that made it over here and I am looking forward to the sequel. I unfortunately didn’t get the chance to finish the game, but overall, I was pretty happy with my experience.

x. Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon: An underrated gem that came out for the 3DS not too long ago, Luigi’s Mansion is a very fun action adventure game, that has a lot of charm to it. It was really fun exploring the mansion, and I loved seeing Luigi’s reactions to it. The game’s really clever with it’s puzzles, and while overall, I felt the game could have been a tad stronger, it was still really good, and I’m glad I bought it.

x. The Last of Us: This game I feel I should like more than I should. Fantastic presentation, great graphics, very interesting characters, and a lot of moments felt very “intense.” Unfortunately, I didn’t really think the actual gameplay was all that spectacular, and honestly, I’m not sure if this is a game I’d enjoy on multiple replays. By all means though, I still greatly enjoyed my time with the game, and while I didn’t love it quite as much as others did, I can understand why and I think everyone should still check the game out when you have the chance if you want to see a “cinematic” game done right.

x. Spelunky: This game will kick your ass over and over again, and sometimes, it botherlines on unfair. However, it still made me come back for more and more, no matter how much the game continues to frustrate me. Spelunky is an addictive platformer game that makes you learn from your mistakes, even if every level layout is different. I’m still trying to beat the game (and I’m honestly beginning to doubt if I ever will…), but it’s still super fun to playthrough and it’s pretty cheap to pick up on Steam and PSN if you still haven’t had the chance.

Annnnd there you go! I loved each and every single game on my top ten, and overall, it was a damn fantastic good year for gaming. I’m hoping 2014’s just as good or even better, with strong games like inFamous: Second Son, Dark Souls 2, Super Smash Bros, and more! Till then, this is TWILT, and I’ll see you all later! Feel free to leave a comment below and tell me what your games of the 2013 were!

What do you think?

Categories

